Users may not create topics, posts, or private messages containing or relating to the following material (especially pertaining to Motorola copyrighted software, unless you want Motorola to come along and shut this site down):

  • Listing for sale or trade of, or links to sites offering for sale or trade of, or giving away, Radio
    Service Software (RSS) or Customer Programming Software (CPS)
  • Profanity, pornography, defamation, or slanderous remarks directed towards any individual or entity
  • Commercial advertising (except in the Batboard Vendors forum, as approved by the Admin/Mod Staff)
  • Any other items which may be deemed as offensive

If any topics, posts, or private messages containing or relating to the aforementioned material are brought to the attention of the Admin/Mod Staff, they will be deleted.

Additional FAQ items appear here in Forum Rules. Please review them for posting guidelines and further clarification.

UHF Astro Spectra IMBE on Ham

This forum is dedicated to discussions pertaining specifically to the Motorola ASTRO line of radios (those that use VSELP/IMBE/AMBE), including using digital modulation, digital programming, FlashPort upgrades, etc. If you have general questions please use the General or Programming forums.

Moderator: Queue Moderator

caprice96
Posts: 214
Joined: Sun Feb 19, 2006 9:51 pm
What radios do you own?: To many to list here.

UHF Astro Spectra IMBE on Ham

Postby caprice96 » Thu May 14, 2009 3:56 pm

Does anyone know what it takes to make a UHF Astro Spectra (450-483) function in the ham band on IMBE?

User avatar
n7maq
Posts: 1440
Joined: Tue Nov 27, 2001 4:00 pm
What radios do you own?: Mocom 70 w/scan!!

Re: UHF Astro Spectra IMBE on Ham

Postby n7maq » Fri May 15, 2009 3:43 pm

caprice96 wrote:Does anyone know what it takes to make a UHF Astro Spectra (450-483) function in the ham band on IMBE?


If it will not do it now then you will need the R2 VCO and correct codeplug. It's best just to get a R2 radio.


Jim

caprice96
Posts: 214
Joined: Sun Feb 19, 2006 9:51 pm
What radios do you own?: To many to list here.

Re: UHF Astro Spectra IMBE on Ham

Postby caprice96 » Fri May 15, 2009 5:16 pm

What range is an R2 radio?

User avatar
n7maq
Posts: 1440
Joined: Tue Nov 27, 2001 4:00 pm
What radios do you own?: Mocom 70 w/scan!!

Re: UHF Astro Spectra IMBE on Ham

Postby n7maq » Fri May 15, 2009 5:29 pm

caprice96 wrote:What range is an R2 radio?


R2 is A 438 to 470 band split. Perfect for Ham.


Jim

caprice96
Posts: 214
Joined: Sun Feb 19, 2006 9:51 pm
What radios do you own?: To many to list here.

Re: UHF Astro Spectra IMBE on Ham

Postby caprice96 » Sun May 17, 2009 11:36 am

Ok, thanks Jim appreciate the help, Ill start looking for one.

ASTROMODAT
Posts: 1802
Joined: Tue Nov 05, 2002 12:32 am

Re: UHF Astro Spectra IMBE on Ham

Postby ASTROMODAT » Wed May 20, 2009 1:10 pm

I believe the only way to come across a factory R2 438 - 470 MHz ASTRO Spectra P25 radio is to locate either the Motorcycle version, or the Low Power version (which will be set at 15 watts from the factory). In the latter case, I think it is the 25 watt max radio, detuned to 15 watts out of the factory. The radio generally is used in the Motorcycle arrangement, and it gets hot inside of the fiberglass housing.

caprice96
Posts: 214
Joined: Sun Feb 19, 2006 9:51 pm
What radios do you own?: To many to list here.

Re: UHF Astro Spectra IMBE on Ham

Postby caprice96 » Wed May 20, 2009 2:08 pm

Ok, thanks for the info. Im working with N7MAQ to get one. Thanks for all your help.

motorola_otaku
Posts: 1854
Joined: Tue Jan 13, 2004 7:03 am

Re: UHF Astro Spectra IMBE on Ham

Postby motorola_otaku » Thu May 21, 2009 7:55 am

Of course, there's nothing stopping you from slapping a 40W Range 3 PA on the back of a Range 2 motorcycle radio either. Just check it on a service monitor after you do and adjust the power alignment accordingly. You should have no problem getting 40W on 446-450 TX.

User avatar
d119
Posts: 3502
Joined: Tue Mar 19, 2002 4:00 pm

Re: UHF Astro Spectra IMBE on Ham

Postby d119 » Sun May 31, 2009 4:45 pm

motorola_otaku wrote:Of course, there's nothing stopping you from slapping a 40W Range 3 PA on the back of a Range 2 motorcycle radio either. Just check it on a service monitor after you do and adjust the power alignment accordingly. You should have no problem getting 40W on 446-450 TX.


Thats exactly what I did - parts built a Range 2 ASTRO Spectra using a motorcycle VCO. Took some modifications to the ASTRO RF deck, but I used a 40W Range 3 PA and get 438-470 IMBE at 40W. Works fine.

Mraudio
Posts: 100
Joined: Sun Jan 27, 2008 6:48 am
What radios do you own?: Quantar/AS/A-spec./VertexP25

Re: UHF Astro Spectra IMBE on Ham

Postby Mraudio » Wed Jul 01, 2009 5:03 am

I have 2 W4's with a R2 profile that I did nothing to except an alignment on that are R3's. The issue I had was making enough audio below 450 for the digital. Analog it worked fine. Now the radios have a test point low enough to work there. Good luck!

User avatar
mancow
Batboard $upporter
Posts: 2374
Joined: Sun Sep 09, 2001 4:00 pm

Re: UHF Astro Spectra IMBE on Ham

Postby mancow » Wed Jul 01, 2009 11:50 am

Anyone have a S rec from one?

That would be very handy for a project I'm starting.

User avatar
matt_tjaden
Posts: 79
Joined: Tue Dec 19, 2006 5:35 pm

Re: UHF Astro Spectra IMBE on Ham

Postby matt_tjaden » Tue Sep 08, 2009 10:14 am

Dose anyone have a part number for a R2 RF board for an astro spectra? I built an AS out of a 450-482 spectra and a "Q" split AS. It works find in both annalog and digital but under 450mhz the radio comes up with "FAIL 001". I was thinking of putting a R2 board in it to see if that will fix it.
Matt Tjaden
KI4IPP

User avatar
Josh
Posts: 1926
Joined: Mon Sep 03, 2001 4:00 pm
What radios do you own?: ASpectra+, XTS2.5K, Kenwood NX

Re: UHF Astro Spectra IMBE on Ham

Postby Josh » Tue Sep 08, 2009 10:17 am

matt_tjaden wrote:Dose anyone have a part number for a R2 RF board for an astro spectra? I built an AS out of a 450-482 spectra and a "Q" split AS. It works find in both annalog and digital but under 450mhz the radio comes up with "FAIL 001". I was thinking of putting a R2 board in it to see if that will fix it.


You would need a new VCO, or mod your VCO.. The RF board for all UHF ranges is the same.

User avatar
matt_tjaden
Posts: 79
Joined: Tue Dec 19, 2006 5:35 pm

Re: UHF Astro Spectra IMBE on Ham

Postby matt_tjaden » Tue Sep 08, 2009 10:32 am

What is the part number for a R2 VCO? If I have to mod my old one, how is that done?
Matt Tjaden

KI4IPP

User avatar
mancow
Batboard $upporter
Posts: 2374
Joined: Sun Sep 09, 2001 4:00 pm

Re: UHF Astro Spectra IMBE on Ham

Postby mancow » Tue Sep 08, 2009 10:52 am

The easiest way is to paint the VCO stripline with a bit of conductive ink. You used to be able to get the conductive pens at RadioShack but it appears they no longer sell them in stores. They can be had on ebay at times too. You need to dab a bit along the stripline inside the square hole under the metal shield on the vco. Just use enough to bridge the dark laser cut lines. Program the radio with a mid split 438-470 S record and you should be good to go.


By the way, I found the above mentioned S record I was looking for. Thanks to those that have replied.


Return to “Legacy Batboard Motorola ASTRO (VSELP/IMBE/AMBE) Equipment Forum”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest