Users may not create topics, posts, or private messages containing or relating to the following material (especially pertaining to Motorola copyrighted software, unless you want Motorola to come along and shut this site down):

  • Listing for sale or trade of, or links to sites offering for sale or trade of, or giving away, Radio
    Service Software (RSS) or Customer Programming Software (CPS)
  • Profanity, pornography, defamation, or slanderous remarks directed towards any individual or entity
  • Commercial advertising (except in the Batboard Vendors forum, as approved by the Admin/Mod Staff)
  • Any other items which may be deemed as offensive

If any topics, posts, or private messages containing or relating to the aforementioned material are brought to the attention of the Admin/Mod Staff, they will be deleted.

Additional FAQ items appear here in Forum Rules. Please review them for posting guidelines and further clarification.

ASTRO 25 Talkgroup input as HEX ?

This forum is dedicated to discussions pertaining specifically to the Motorola ASTRO line of radios (those that use VSELP/IMBE/AMBE), including using digital modulation, digital programming, FlashPort upgrades, etc. If you have general questions please use the General or Programming forums.

Moderator: Queue Moderator

User avatar
sheldon
Posts: 106
Joined: Mon Sep 13, 2010 3:57 pm

ASTRO 25 Talkgroup input as HEX ?

Postby sheldon » Tue Oct 25, 2011 11:06 pm

I am trying to add TGs into the Trunking Personality / Talkgroup tab in CPS 16.00.00 and regardless of what TG I enter e.g. 40426, the CPS comes up with an invalid field error! Any ideas what may be the cause? Do the TGS have to be in HEX format?

User avatar
K8TEK
"Dark Chocolate"
Posts: 458
Joined: Thu Apr 08, 2004 12:40 pm
What radios do you own?: Dynatac

Re: ASTRO 25 Talkgroup input as HEX ?

Postby K8TEK » Wed Oct 26, 2011 12:22 am

After seeing your previous post here it would appear to me that you are attempting to do something you have no business doing. Not to be rude, but stick to your scanner.
Last edited by K8TEK on Thu Oct 27, 2011 11:43 pm, edited 1 time in total.
K8TEK::Tim

Spiffy50
Posts: 173
Joined: Tue Feb 09, 2010 7:37 am

Re: ASTRO 25 Talkgroup input as HEX ?

Postby Spiffy50 » Wed Oct 26, 2011 1:21 am

More along the lines of the information you are looking for, yes all Motorola radios (with some exceptions like the GTX/Maxtrac series) use hex.

tvsjr
Posts: 4118
Joined: Fri Nov 28, 2003 9:46 am

Re: ASTRO 25 Talkgroup input as HEX ?

Postby tvsjr » Wed Oct 26, 2011 8:04 am

Spiffy50 wrote:More along the lines of the information you are looking for, yes all Motorola radios (with some exceptions like the GTX/Maxtrac series) use hex.


Be careful with those absolutes... APX allows entry of all values in hex and decimal (damn confusing)... A25 does unit IDs in hex and dec...

User avatar
Motoboy
Posts: 102
Joined: Wed Nov 11, 2009 1:58 pm
What radios do you own?: HT1250 I saved from the dump

Re: ASTRO 25 Talkgroup input as HEX ?

Postby Motoboy » Thu Oct 27, 2011 4:27 pm

After seeing your previous post here it would appear to me that you are attempting to do something you have no business doing.


It is important to note that you cannot change a Unit ID in the ASTRO 25 CPS unless you have the system key for the trunking system you are trying to use. If you read a radio for which you do not have a key (software or hardware), you can't just change the ID and blow it into a different radio. You can, however, read the radio and change things that are not related to the trunking portion and then blow it back into the original radio, as long as your system doesn't have an advanced key that is write protected.
"I don't have a driver's license, either, and that never got me in trouble!" ~Customer


Return to “Legacy Batboard Motorola ASTRO (VSELP/IMBE/AMBE) Equipment Forum”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest