Users may not create topics, posts, or private messages containing or relating to the following material (especially pertaining to Motorola copyrighted software, unless you want Motorola to come along and shut this site down):

  • Listing for sale or trade of, or links to sites offering for sale or trade of, or giving away, Radio
    Service Software (RSS) or Customer Programming Software (CPS)
  • Profanity, pornography, defamation, or slanderous remarks directed towards any individual or entity
  • Commercial advertising (except in the Batboard Vendors forum, as approved by the Admin/Mod Staff)
  • Any other items which may be deemed as offensive

If any topics, posts, or private messages containing or relating to the aforementioned material are brought to the attention of the Admin/Mod Staff, they will be deleted.

Additional FAQ items appear here in Forum Rules. Please review them for posting guidelines and further clarification.

XTS5000 Firmware R4 to R16

This forum is dedicated to discussions pertaining specifically to the Motorola ASTRO line of radios (those that use VSELP/IMBE/AMBE), including using digital modulation, digital programming, FlashPort upgrades, etc. If you have general questions please use the General or Programming forums.

Moderator: Queue Moderator

Squad5
was mwb9122
Posts: 706
Joined: Thu Jan 28, 2010 8:46 pm

XTS5000 Firmware R4 to R16

Postby Squad5 » Fri Nov 18, 2011 9:10 am

I am trying to upgrade the firmware in my XTS5000 portable. It gets ready to write to the radio and then the port just closes and it read unable to upgrade radio and then it says host failed to upgrade.

Is the jump from R4 to R16 too big, should I try and load a older firmware instead? Any Ideas?

User avatar
d119
Posts: 3501
Joined: Tue Mar 19, 2002 4:00 pm

Re: XTS5000 Firmware R4 to R16

Postby d119 » Fri Nov 18, 2011 9:48 am

Which CPS version are you using to do this?

Squad5
was mwb9122
Posts: 706
Joined: Thu Jan 28, 2010 8:46 pm

Re: XTS5000 Firmware R4 to R16

Postby Squad5 » Fri Nov 18, 2011 9:55 am

R7. I used it before to upgrade an R12 to R16 but for some reason this Radio will not take it

Squad5
was mwb9122
Posts: 706
Joined: Thu Jan 28, 2010 8:46 pm

Re: XTS5000 Firmware R4 to R16

Postby Squad5 » Fri Nov 18, 2011 2:18 pm

Would R16 CPS help if I tried it there?

User avatar
d119
Posts: 3501
Joined: Tue Mar 19, 2002 4:00 pm

Re: XTS5000 Firmware R4 to R16

Postby d119 » Fri Nov 18, 2011 3:00 pm

The worst thing it can do is tell you the same thing R7 is telling you.

You *ARE* using a flash key to do the upgrade, correct?

Squad5
was mwb9122
Posts: 706
Joined: Thu Jan 28, 2010 8:46 pm

Re: XTS5000 Firmware R4 to R16

Postby Squad5 » Fri Nov 18, 2011 3:06 pm

Yes, It loads the bootstrap and when it begins to download, it just stops and then says closing port and then shoots me the upgrade fail. I have this same error on 2 radios with this ancient firmware

User avatar
n7maq
Posts: 1440
Joined: Tue Nov 27, 2001 4:00 pm
What radios do you own?: Mocom 70 w/scan!!

Re: XTS5000 Firmware R4 to R16

Postby n7maq » Fri Nov 18, 2011 4:01 pm

mwb9122 wrote:Yes, It loads the bootstrap and when it begins to download, it just stops and then says closing port and then shoots me the upgrade fail. I have this same error on 2 radios with this ancient firmware

You should use CPS 16 to load R 16 F/W so the codeplug structure is updated correctly anyway (as long as you use a refresh key no CP update if you don't use the key to refresh the F/W.)

Jason
Posts: 800
Joined: Mon Oct 08, 2001 4:00 pm

Re: XTS5000 Firmware R4 to R16

Postby Jason » Fri Nov 18, 2011 4:30 pm

You also may want to try a RS232 cable instead of USB, those early radios are touchy when trying to do flash upgrades with USB. Yes, R16 CPS would be be BEST for you if you can access it.

User avatar
d119
Posts: 3501
Joined: Tue Mar 19, 2002 4:00 pm

Re: XTS5000 Firmware R4 to R16

Postby d119 » Fri Nov 18, 2011 4:41 pm

Jason wrote:You also may want to try a RS232 cable instead of USB, those early radios are touchy when trying to do flash upgrades with USB. Yes, R16 CPS would be be BEST for you if you can access it.


That's an excellent point that I overlooked. I agree - with a radio this early, you should use a serial cable to perform the upgrade. There were several enhancements regarding USB released after your current firmware version, IIRC, and USB firmware upgrades may have been one of them.

Jason
Posts: 800
Joined: Mon Oct 08, 2001 4:00 pm

Re: XTS5000 Firmware R4 to R16

Postby Jason » Fri Nov 18, 2011 8:11 pm

IIRC, USB programming support came around FW 3 something but USB Flash wasn't supported until later, 5 or 6 something. Some radios it will take and work, some radios get bricked.

Squad5
was mwb9122
Posts: 706
Joined: Thu Jan 28, 2010 8:46 pm

Re: XTS5000 Firmware R4 to R16

Postby Squad5 » Sat Nov 19, 2011 12:51 am

I am currently using the Serial cable. I will let you guys know how it goes!

MT2000 man
Posts: 1252
Joined: Tue Sep 04, 2001 4:00 pm
What radios do you own?: XTS5000R, Astro Saber III, I

Re: XTS5000 Firmware R4 to R16

Postby MT2000 man » Sun Nov 20, 2011 3:32 pm

What's new in R16 that isn't in R15 ?

I currently have CPS Version 15, and from reading this thread, evidently that would create an issue if the radio had R16 ? I wouldn't think I'd have a problem programming it with CPS V. 15 if the radio has 16 in it, but who knows :)

tvsjr
Posts: 4118
Joined: Fri Nov 28, 2003 9:46 am

Re: XTS5000 Firmware R4 to R16

Postby tvsjr » Sun Nov 20, 2011 5:17 pm

MT2000 man wrote:What's new in R16 that isn't in R15 ?

I currently have CPS Version 15, and from reading this thread, evidently that would create an issue if the radio had R16 ? I wouldn't think I'd have a problem programming it with CPS V. 15 if the radio has 16 in it, but who knows :)


viewforum.php?f=44
Answers you seek are in there. YOu will need CPS 16 to read/write an R16 radio...

MT2000 man
Posts: 1252
Joined: Tue Sep 04, 2001 4:00 pm
What radios do you own?: XTS5000R, Astro Saber III, I

Re: XTS5000 Firmware R4 to R16

Postby MT2000 man » Sun Nov 20, 2011 7:35 pm

Ah, guess that answers both questions :)

Thanks !

Squad5
was mwb9122
Posts: 706
Joined: Thu Jan 28, 2010 8:46 pm

Re: XTS5000 Firmware R4 to R16

Postby Squad5 » Sun Nov 20, 2011 9:41 pm

It worked correctly w/ R16. Now the radio reboots it self once you try to transmit or hit the emergency button. Radio owner never tested the Tx button before the firmware so unsure if that is it. I reloaded the firmware and it still does the same thing.

freerider aust
New User
Posts: 24
Joined: Thu May 07, 2009 10:52 pm
What radios do you own?: XTS2500,3000 MCS2000 ASTRO SPE

Re: XTS5000 Firmware R4 to R16

Postby freerider aust » Mon Nov 21, 2011 2:46 am

mwb9122 wrote:R7. I used it before to upgrade an R12 to R16 but for some reason this Radio will not take it

is that r 7 software the speical version and have you upgraded the tuner section to a much newer version ?
you could try the zapflash method (using cps 16)this forces the firmware into it i have bricked a radio and was able to revive it with no problems
do a search on the internet that will give you more on the zapflash method

Squad5
was mwb9122
Posts: 706
Joined: Thu Jan 28, 2010 8:46 pm

Re: XTS5000 Firmware R4 to R16

Postby Squad5 » Mon Nov 21, 2011 7:35 pm

I got it to work. Just having an issue of the Radio rebooting itself when I try to transmit. It has the older Ram22 processor so I am going to try and bump the firmware back down to something before R14. Just need the file, which I cant find.

Jason
Posts: 800
Joined: Mon Oct 08, 2001 4:00 pm

Re: XTS5000 Firmware R4 to R16

Postby Jason » Mon Nov 21, 2011 9:18 pm

I'd say it more likely needs an alignment. 16 in a RAM radio should be fine other than the stuttering keypad tones isssue.

Squad5
was mwb9122
Posts: 706
Joined: Thu Jan 28, 2010 8:46 pm

Re: XTS5000 Firmware R4 to R16

Postby Squad5 » Mon Nov 21, 2011 9:38 pm

I also get the suttering keypad issue. I am currently on the hunt for R14 firmware. I have an available flash dongle just need the firmware

CTAMontrose
was grem467
Posts: 1145
Joined: Mon Jul 21, 2003 12:46 pm

Re: XTS5000 Firmware R4 to R16

Postby CTAMontrose » Tue Nov 22, 2011 6:19 am

You cant downgrade firmware by any normal methods.

cyuking5566123
New User
Posts: 3
Joined: Tue Nov 01, 2011 1:23 am

Re: XTS5000 Firmware R4 to R16

Postby cyuking5566123 » Mon Jan 16, 2012 12:35 am

I upgrade R04 to R15.09 by Flaskzap.
It is successful.

User avatar
K8TEK
"Dark Chocolate"
Posts: 458
Joined: Thu Apr 08, 2004 12:40 pm
What radios do you own?: Dynatac

Re: XTS5000 Firmware R4 to R16

Postby K8TEK » Mon Jan 16, 2012 11:21 am

cyuking5566123 wrote:I upgrade R04 to R15.09 by Flaskzap.
It is successful.

What is Flaskzap?
K8TEK::Tim

User avatar
Mfire39
Moderator
Posts: 1331
Joined: Sat Jan 17, 2004 8:53 am
What radios do you own?: APX

Re: XTS5000 Firmware R4 to R16

Postby Mfire39 » Mon Jan 16, 2012 1:12 pm

cyuking5566123 wrote:I upgrade R04 to R15.09 by Flaskzap.
It is successful.

Check and see what your max channels are.. I bet it still says 512..

-Marc
Stupidity creates job security!

If your radio has old firmware, programming it with the latest CPS will not add any new features unless you have the latest firmware to match..

CPS = Customer Programming Software, Not CPS Software.


Return to “Legacy Batboard Motorola ASTRO (VSELP/IMBE/AMBE) Equipment Forum”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest