Users may not create topics, posts, or private messages containing or relating to the following material (especially pertaining to Motorola copyrighted software, unless you want Motorola to come along and shut this site down):

  • Listing for sale or trade of, or links to sites offering for sale or trade of, or giving away, Radio
    Service Software (RSS) or Customer Programming Software (CPS)
  • Profanity, pornography, defamation, or slanderous remarks directed towards any individual or entity
  • Commercial advertising (except in the Batboard Vendors forum, as approved by the Admin/Mod Staff)
  • Any other items which may be deemed as offensive

If any topics, posts, or private messages containing or relating to the aforementioned material are brought to the attention of the Admin/Mod Staff, they will be deleted.

Additional FAQ items appear here in Forum Rules. Please review them for posting guidelines and further clarification.

R2200A no horizontal sweep

This forum exists for the purposes for discussing service monitors (This includes but is not limited to Motorola, HP, Aeroflex, GD, etc). Additional topics allowed include test procedures, interpretation of test results, where to find information about specific tests, antenna VSWR, return loss testing, duplexer and filter alignment, etc.

Moderator: Queue Moderator

xxx2fan
Posts: 69
Joined: Mon Oct 31, 2005 4:42 pm
What radios do you own?: HT750 Ht1250 CDM1250 CDM1550

R2200A no horizontal sweep

Postby xxx2fan » Sun Jun 16, 2019 4:19 pm

I have a R2200A that has no horizontal sweep. Has a dot in the middle of the scope. you can't move the spot with the position control.
Anyone have an idea where I should look any pointers. I have a manual for the unit, But I'm lost on this one.LV power supply voltages check good.

Thanks for any help.

jry
Posts: 378
Joined: Fri Feb 06, 2004 3:14 pm

Re: R2200A no horizontal sweep

Postby jry » Sat Jun 22, 2019 6:00 am

this is pretty straight forward.

You may want to get someone to assist since the manual and access are pretty straightforward.

if the horizontal position doesn't work than it may be the connection between the scope module driver board and the scope amplifier board ...16 pin dip ribbon on the top from the back right of the driver board to the first plug in card in the card cage,


look at pin one of that jumper which has the sweep and position and DC offset( hor pos )

If the dot is centered than the output amp should be OK....may just need to re-seat the connections and the scope amplifier board ....there is a clamp but it has a rubber pad that may have need to be replaced.

these should be a really easy fix....

xxx2fan
Posts: 69
Joined: Mon Oct 31, 2005 4:42 pm
What radios do you own?: HT750 Ht1250 CDM1250 CDM1550

Re: R2200A no horizontal sweep

Postby xxx2fan » Sat Jun 22, 2019 5:51 pm

thanks jry I'll check the 16 pin ribbon cable and try reseating the scope amplifier board there is a very small line about 1/4 vertical and the vertical position will not move also if I try the horizontal position it will not move from left to right.
We are going to OBX NC in the morning but as soon as I get back will try the above you suggested.
Thanks so much for getting back to me. Everything works but the scope really want to get it working.
Thanks again for your help
I'll get back as soon as I try your suggestions.

User avatar
Andy Corbin
Posts: 137
Joined: Tue Apr 19, 2005 3:46 pm

Re: R2200A no horizontal sweep

Postby Andy Corbin » Sun Jun 23, 2019 9:09 am

I had a problem with the CRT display on my R2400. Turned it on one day and it was way off. Either the trace was all the way to the top of the screen or I could only see a little of it. I immediately thought I would need a new CRT. What I discovered was, I had set my magnetic parts dish on top of the monitor. When I removed it, the trace came back to normal.

xxx2fan
Posts: 69
Joined: Mon Oct 31, 2005 4:42 pm
What radios do you own?: HT750 Ht1250 CDM1250 CDM1550

Re: R2200A no horizontal sweep

Postby xxx2fan » Wed Jun 26, 2019 3:06 am

Thanks Andy for the heads up, I try to keep all my magnetic bowls on my rollaway tool box. Thanks I'll watch where I put them.

xxx2fan
Posts: 69
Joined: Mon Oct 31, 2005 4:42 pm
What radios do you own?: HT750 Ht1250 CDM1250 CDM1550

Re: R2200A no horizontal sweep

Postby xxx2fan » Sat Jul 06, 2019 1:09 pm

On the 2200A I re seated the scope amplifier board. I checked the pins on the jumper. Now I have a line at the very bottom of the scope, I can move the trace to the left and right to fill the scope with a bottom with a line if I try to move it up position it will only come up to the 5 and gets wider and but will no move up to center. If I put a scope probe on and touch the probe I get some sort of trace with some vertical at the very bottom of screen but the trace will not move up from the bottom of the scope screen. The horizontal seems to be working ok now. I going to try to post a pic. be my first time with a pic.
thanks for any pointers
cant figure out the pic


Return to “Test Equipment & RF Equipment Alignment”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest