600ohm to 50ohm balun or transformer?

This forum exists for the purposes for discussing service monitors (This includes but is not limited to Motorola, HP, Aeroflex, GD, etc). Additional topics allowed include test procedures, interpretation of test results, where to find information about specific tests, antenna VSWR, return loss testing, duplexer and filter alignment, etc.

Moderator: Queue Moderator

Post Reply
btm
New User
Posts: 3
Joined: Wed Aug 22, 2012 2:47 pm
What radios do you own?: FTM-350R, VX8-DR, 2100H

600ohm to 50ohm balun or transformer?

Post by btm »

I've purchased a Motorola R1150B Code Synthesizer for testing Minitor pagers. The manual says the two test jacks (banana plugs) are 600ohm balanced output. Most signal generators seem to have a 50ohm BNC external modulation input. What's the best way to convert this audio signal? Searching for a balun tends to lead to large units designed for high power transmission antennas. Is a small transformer appropriate? How about Mouser # 546-101R (Hammond 101R)? Please inform me if I'm horribly wrong.

http://www.mouser.com/ProductDetail/Ham ... Vr6Q%3d%3d
DJP126
Posts: 869
Joined: Wed Jun 18, 2003 6:41 am
What radios do you own?: What's a radio?

Re: 600ohm to 50ohm balun or transformer?

Post by DJP126 »

btm wrote:I've purchased a Motorola R1150B Code Synthesizer for testing Minitor pagers. The manual says the two test jacks (banana plugs) are 600ohm balanced output. Most signal generators seem to have a 50ohm BNC external modulation input. What's the best way to convert this audio signal? Searching for a balun tends to lead to large units designed for high power transmission antennas. Is a small transformer appropriate? How about Mouser # 546-101R (Hammond 101R)? Please inform me if I'm horribly wrong.

http://www.mouser.com/ProductDetail/Ham ... Vr6Q%3d%3d
Motorola used to sell one for the R1150 but just because the external mod input on the generator is a BNC connector, it does NOT mean it's 50 ohms. Most of them are higher impedance.
Dave
User avatar
Wowbagger
Aeroflex
Posts: 1287
Joined: Tue Dec 10, 2002 10:46 am

Re: 600ohm to 50ohm balun or transformer?

Post by Wowbagger »

Try looking for "audio transformer 600 ohm 50 ohm bnc". The transformer doesn't care about balanced or unbalanced, it's how you connect the leads.
This is my opinion, not Aeroflex's.

I WILL NOT give you proprietary information. I make too much money to jeopardize my job.

I AM NOT the Service department: You want official info, manuals, service info, parts, calibration, etc., contact Aeroflex directly, please.
jry
Posts: 436
Joined: Fri Feb 06, 2004 3:14 pm

Re: 600ohm to 50ohm balun or transformer?

Post by jry »

used those for years and never really gave much thought to exactly matching the impedance since really all you are looking for is the correct deviation level and minimal distortion. The output level adjust will compensate for any differences in the impedance between the two devices.

Bottom line is I would not worry about it going into a signal generator or service monitor. just get a banana jack pair to BNC cable or adapter with a BNC jumper.
User avatar
Wowbagger
Aeroflex
Posts: 1287
Joined: Tue Dec 10, 2002 10:46 am

Re: 600ohm to 50ohm balun or transformer?

Post by Wowbagger »

Careful: there are devices where the audio HAS to be balanced - grounding one side will cause issues from hum to smoke leakage.

Just using a banana to BNC won't make it balanced.
This is my opinion, not Aeroflex's.

I WILL NOT give you proprietary information. I make too much money to jeopardize my job.

I AM NOT the Service department: You want official info, manuals, service info, parts, calibration, etc., contact Aeroflex directly, please.
User avatar
Bill_G
Posts: 3087
Joined: Thu Sep 17, 2009 5:00 am

Re: 600ohm to 50ohm balun or transformer?

Post by Bill_G »

This will work - a CATV balun BNC to screw terminal.

Image

http://www.mcmelectronics.com/product/D ... 0-/50-7750
jry
Posts: 436
Joined: Fri Feb 06, 2004 3:14 pm

Re: 600ohm to 50ohm balun or transformer?

Post by jry »

The R11XX analog output is balanced ( essentially audio transformer secondary) which really does not care which side you ground or not.

Part of the reason for this is the tone remote functionality for testing base stations over long analog lines where the need for 600 ohm balanced output is really needed.

Running into your typical service monitor or signal generator within a few feet with just a straight through cable is fine.

Have run these into a number of service monitors and generators with zero issues using the analog output this way.
Will
Posts: 6823
Joined: Tue Sep 04, 2001 4:00 pm

Re: 600ohm to 50ohm balun or transformer?

Post by Will »

Bill_G wrote:This will work - a CATV balun BNC to screw terminal.

Image

http://www.mcmelectronics.com/product/D ... 0-/50-7750

NO

That is for low level RF, we are talking audio...
User avatar
Bill_G
Posts: 3087
Joined: Thu Sep 17, 2009 5:00 am

Re: 600ohm to 50ohm balun or transformer?

Post by Bill_G »

I know. It will work (with some attenuation of course). They are pretty general purpose.
Will
Posts: 6823
Joined: Tue Sep 04, 2001 4:00 pm

Re: 600ohm to 50ohm balun or transformer?

Post by Will »

Bill_G wrote:I know. It will work (with some attenuation of course). They are pretty general purpose.
No, the balun will not pas any audio. Even at RF the low end is above 20 mHz.
User avatar
Bill_G
Posts: 3087
Joined: Thu Sep 17, 2009 5:00 am

Re: 600ohm to 50ohm balun or transformer?

Post by Bill_G »

Will wrote:
Bill_G wrote:I know. It will work (with some attenuation of course). They are pretty general purpose.
No, the balun will not pas any audio. Even at RF the low end is above 20 mHz.
Understood. Theoretically you should be correct, and yet they do pass audio. I've used them before. They are a convenient form factor, and I've used them to couple an external simulcast PL gen with a BNC connector into a Quantar on through the 25pr connector.
Al
Posts: 1045
Joined: Tue Sep 04, 2001 4:00 pm

Re: 600ohm to 50ohm balun or transformer?

Post by Al »

Baluns do not have the property of DC isolation between input and output, so if you don't mind grounding one side of the test unit's audio output for DC and it doesn't destroy the audio output amp in the radio...transformer isolation is the best way, and 1:1 audio transformers are as inexpensive as a balun from suppliers like Mouser. I keep an old REP-111C telephone repeat coil(transformer) around for just such uses. It'll match 600 to 150 or 50 ohm circuits while providing DC isolation
Post Reply

Return to “Test Equipment & RF Equipment Alignment”