Users may not create topics, posts, or private messages containing or relating to the following material (especially pertaining to Motorola copyrighted software, unless you want Motorola to come along and shut this site down):

  • Listing for sale or trade of, or links to sites offering for sale or trade of, or giving away, Radio
    Service Software (RSS) or Customer Programming Software (CPS)
  • Profanity, pornography, defamation, or slanderous remarks directed towards any individual or entity
  • Commercial advertising (except in the Batboard Vendors forum, as approved by the Admin/Mod Staff)
  • Any other items which may be deemed as offensive

If any topics, posts, or private messages containing or relating to the aforementioned material are brought to the attention of the Admin/Mod Staff, they will be deleted.

Additional FAQ items appear here in Forum Rules. Please review them for posting guidelines and further clarification.

Motorola R2600 set is death, power supplly

This forum exists for the purposes for discussing service monitors (This includes but is not limited to Motorola, HP, Aeroflex, GD, etc). Additional topics allowed include test procedures, interpretation of test results, where to find information about specific tests, antenna VSWR, return loss testing, duplexer and filter alignment, etc.

Moderator: Queue Moderator

asdfg
Posts: 50
Joined: Tue Apr 19, 2005 4:37 am

Motorola R2600 set is death, power supplly

Postby asdfg » Tue Sep 10, 2013 3:55 am

Motorola telecommunications set R2600-Power supply is death, fuses are fine. It works for an external power supply of 12 volts. Ifs there some idea?
Thanx!

jry
Posts: 352
Joined: Fri Feb 06, 2004 3:14 pm

Re: Motorola R2600 set is death, power supplly

Postby jry » Tue Sep 10, 2013 6:38 am

1. make sure the input voltage range switch is in the correct position ...re-seat / toggle back and forth just in case it's dirty

2. check for the Aux Power (develops around 11VDC from the input AC ) on the DC power connector to the processor ...should be around 11+ VDC on one of the pins going to the on-off switch ..should really be the only pin with voltage. If this is missing than work it back from there ...has a separate transformer and regulator etc on the power supply

3.Check for 300VDC on the largeinput filter caps ...careful ! If no 300VDC check for open thermistors and or input bridge . You will have to pull the supply at this point to check these.

Would go ahead and completely pull the board from the read panel. You can still use the read panel cabling for the power connection but the output connector will be off.
The on-off switch shorts the bottom two pins toward the PCB edge on the power out connector ...one of those has the 11VDC on it

That should get you started

gvodvarka
New User
Posts: 2
Joined: Tue May 17, 2011 5:13 pm

Re: Motorola R2600 set is death, power supplly

Postby gvodvarka » Fri Jan 10, 2014 2:47 pm

Mine did the same thing. My protectors were damaged and after getting it repaired I found out the primary on the transformer was shorted. Had to replace the power supply board. Nextec Global in Torrance is the best and very good prices to fix this. 800-323-6967

User avatar
d119
Posts: 3465
Joined: Tue Mar 19, 2002 4:00 pm

Re: Motorola R2600 set is death, power supplly

Postby d119 » Thu Jan 16, 2014 9:19 am

gvodvarka wrote:Nextec Global in Torrance is the best and very good prices to fix this. 800-323-6967


I have _extensive_ experience with NexTec in Torrance, CA. and can also vouch that they are a top-notch firm. They specialize in the R2600 series, and can fix anything.

User avatar
Andy Brinkley
Batboard $upporter
Posts: 360
Joined: Mon Sep 03, 2001 4:00 pm
What radios do you own?: FMR80D and a Motrac with Scan

Re: Motorola R2600 set is death, power supplly

Postby Andy Brinkley » Thu Jan 16, 2014 4:41 pm

Check the internal fuse on the power supply board. Mine blew and did the same thing - would run off of dc but not AC replaced it and it has been running great for several years.
Andy

--------------------------------------------------------------
NC Certified Firefighter III / EMT
FCC Licensed Technician / Amateur Call NC4AB / Echolink Node #5761

asdfg
Posts: 50
Joined: Tue Apr 19, 2005 4:37 am

Re: Motorola R2600 set is death, power supplly

Postby asdfg » Sun Jan 19, 2014 3:22 am

What I did, was that I added the external power supply.

DJP126
Posts: 864
Joined: Wed Jun 18, 2003 6:41 am
What radios do you own?: What's a radio?

Re: Motorola R2600 set is death, power supplly

Postby DJP126 » Sat Feb 01, 2014 6:08 pm

d119 wrote:
gvodvarka wrote:Nextec Global in Torrance is the best and very good prices to fix this. 800-323-6967


I have _extensive_ experience with NexTec in Torrance, CA. and can also vouch that they are a top-notch firm. They specialize in the R2600 series, and can fix anything.


NexTec started in Japan and was the Motorola Authorized service center for test equipment for the Asian markets. The 800 number used to be Motorola's Test Equipment Service Depot number. When Motorola sold the service department to CTDI, NexTec opened up in California and took over the number. Their tech was Motorola trained.
Dave


Return to “Test Equipment & RF Equipment Alignment”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest