Users may not create topics, posts, or private messages containing or relating to the following material (especially pertaining to Motorola copyrighted software, unless you want Motorola to come along and shut this site down):

  • Listing for sale or trade of, or links to sites offering for sale or trade of, or giving away, Radio
    Service Software (RSS) or Customer Programming Software (CPS)
  • Profanity, pornography, defamation, or slanderous remarks directed towards any individual or entity
  • Commercial advertising (except in the Batboard Vendors forum, as approved by the Admin/Mod Staff)
  • Any other items which may be deemed as offensive

If any topics, posts, or private messages containing or relating to the aforementioned material are brought to the attention of the Admin/Mod Staff, they will be deleted.

Additional FAQ items appear here in Forum Rules. Please review them for posting guidelines and further clarification.

ifr 1600s

This forum exists for the purposes for discussing service monitors (This includes but is not limited to Motorola, HP, Aeroflex, GD, etc). Additional topics allowed include test procedures, interpretation of test results, where to find information about specific tests, antenna VSWR, return loss testing, duplexer and filter alignment, etc.

Moderator: Queue Moderator

jhall
New User
Posts: 4
Joined: Mon Aug 15, 2011 3:07 pm

ifr 1600s

Postby jhall » Thu Sep 11, 2014 5:28 pm

Hope someone may give me a little help on the 1600s,when I hook my return loss bridge I get about -11.2 db on display with no load to the bridge,how do you get the ref line to go to 0 ?
sorry if I sound dumb but learning this machine
joe

User avatar
Wowbagger
Aeroflex
Posts: 1287
Joined: Tue Dec 10, 2002 10:46 am

Re: ifr 1600s

Postby Wowbagger » Fri Sep 12, 2014 3:58 am

There will always be a bit of loss going through a return loss bridge. Increase the output of your generator until the trace is at a convenient point on the screen - e.g. in your example, bump the reference output up until you get the reference on -10dB, or run it down until you hit -20dB.
This is my opinion, not Aeroflex's.

I WILL NOT give you proprietary information. I make too much money to jeopardize my job.

I AM NOT the Service department: You want official info, manuals, service info, parts, calibration, etc., contact Aeroflex directly, please.

jhall
New User
Posts: 4
Joined: Mon Aug 15, 2011 3:07 pm

Re: ifr 1600s

Postby jhall » Fri Sep 12, 2014 5:04 am

Thanks I thought there may be a function to normalize the trace such as the ifr 2975

User avatar
Wowbagger
Aeroflex
Posts: 1287
Joined: Tue Dec 10, 2002 10:46 am

Re: ifr 1600s

Postby Wowbagger » Sat Sep 13, 2014 5:39 am

Nope - although that's why normalize was added in the later units.
This is my opinion, not Aeroflex's.

I WILL NOT give you proprietary information. I make too much money to jeopardize my job.

I AM NOT the Service department: You want official info, manuals, service info, parts, calibration, etc., contact Aeroflex directly, please.

GlennD
Posts: 477
Joined: Tue Jun 15, 2004 8:00 am

Re: ifr 1600s

Postby GlennD » Sat Sep 13, 2014 6:40 pm

If you go to HP's, Agelent, or whatever it is today, there is a very good general operations manual available.

My printed copy says 08920-090212 ... Application Handbook.


Return to “Test Equipment & RF Equipment Alignment”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests