Users may not create topics, posts, or private messages containing or relating to the following material (especially pertaining to Motorola copyrighted software, unless you want Motorola to come along and shut this site down):

  • Listing for sale or trade of, or links to sites offering for sale or trade of, or giving away, Radio
    Service Software (RSS) or Customer Programming Software (CPS)
  • Profanity, pornography, defamation, or slanderous remarks directed towards any individual or entity
  • Commercial advertising (except in the Batboard Vendors forum, as approved by the Admin/Mod Staff)
  • Any other items which may be deemed as offensive

If any topics, posts, or private messages containing or relating to the aforementioned material are brought to the attention of the Admin/Mod Staff, they will be deleted.

Additional FAQ items appear here in Forum Rules. Please review them for posting guidelines and further clarification.

Another IFR1600S Question

This forum exists for the purposes for discussing service monitors (This includes but is not limited to Motorola, HP, Aeroflex, GD, etc). Additional topics allowed include test procedures, interpretation of test results, where to find information about specific tests, antenna VSWR, return loss testing, duplexer and filter alignment, etc.

Moderator: Queue Moderator

W4DDM
New User
Posts: 6
Joined: Fri Sep 12, 2014 9:10 pm

Another IFR1600S Question

Postby W4DDM » Fri Sep 12, 2014 9:40 pm

Hello,

Before posting I went through the forum to see if there was an answer already and I was unable to find one. If there is one I missed please point me in that direction.

I recently acquired a IFR1600S and I also have the Operation Manual. However I noticed that in the Operation Manual it only goes through the menus on the screen to perform various functions.

Because I am very new to using a service monitor I am kinda lost. Is there a document(s) or a personal web site that goes over what to connect and where to connect it on the IFR1600S when performing different functions?

Thanks,
Dean

User avatar
Wowbagger
Aeroflex
Posts: 1287
Joined: Tue Dec 10, 2002 10:46 am

Re: Another IFR1600S Question

Postby Wowbagger » Sat Sep 13, 2014 5:38 am

I don't know if it is still available, but we (IFR/Aeroflex) used to have a very good "how to use a service monitor" for the 1200 family, which would at least give you a head start. I'll try to remember to look at the copy I have in my office and see if TechPubs still offers it.
This is my opinion, not Aeroflex's.

I WILL NOT give you proprietary information. I make too much money to jeopardize my job.

I AM NOT the Service department: You want official info, manuals, service info, parts, calibration, etc., contact Aeroflex directly, please.

W4DDM
New User
Posts: 6
Joined: Fri Sep 12, 2014 9:10 pm

Re: Another IFR1600S Question

Postby W4DDM » Sat Sep 13, 2014 8:12 am

Thank you !!!

I figured out some of the more than obvious functions... i.e.. attach the repeater tx to the T/R to check Freq/Power etc...
Where I am now is that I need to set the audio level of my repeater controller. This involves injecting a 1000hz 3KHz wide tone through the repeater and controller in order to test for .75v Peak to Peak on the controllers TP1. I also need to tune up a set of Duplexers.

Thanks,
Dean

W4DDM
New User
Posts: 6
Joined: Fri Sep 12, 2014 9:10 pm

Re: Another IFR1600S Question

Postby W4DDM » Sun Sep 14, 2014 5:25 am

I almost forgot, as a new owner, can anyone recommend some add-ons that I should get for the IFR1600S ? i.e... a probe set, any specialized connectors etc... I was able to find a twist lock 8 pin Mic Plug on eBay. I also bought a dozen silver BNC connectors to make some RG-400 coax jumpers.

Thanks,
Dean

User avatar
Wowbagger
Aeroflex
Posts: 1287
Joined: Tue Dec 10, 2002 10:46 am

Re: Another IFR1600S Question

Postby Wowbagger » Mon Sep 15, 2014 6:19 am

I cannot guarantee that these are available, but try contacting Aeroflex tech pubs and ask if they have 1002-0600-500 COM-120B Communications Service Monitor Application Guide (yes, it's not the 1600, but it should be close enough to get you started).

Semi-OT: I keep pressuring the company to make a lot of those sorts of manuals available free of charge on our web site. However, I am design engineering, not marketing/communications - I can only suggest this, not make it happen. If you guys want it to happen, I'd suggest contacting Aeroflex officially and asking nicely.
This is my opinion, not Aeroflex's.

I WILL NOT give you proprietary information. I make too much money to jeopardize my job.

I AM NOT the Service department: You want official info, manuals, service info, parts, calibration, etc., contact Aeroflex directly, please.

Al
Posts: 1045
Joined: Tue Sep 04, 2001 4:00 pm

Re: Another IFR1600S Question

Postby Al » Mon Sep 15, 2014 8:44 am

Since Aeroflex has just been bought out by Cobham(per the email that I received this morning) perhaps upper level management will change and along with that change may come provision of greater access to obsolete drawings/manuals via the website.
http://www.cobham.com/media/news/cobham ... leted.aspx

W4DDM
New User
Posts: 6
Joined: Fri Sep 12, 2014 9:10 pm

Re: Another IFR1600S Question

Postby W4DDM » Mon Sep 15, 2014 8:09 pm

I will contact them and see if I can get it from them.

Question on the DMM Probe ports... are they just female banana sockets ? My desktop DMM probes will not fit the female plugs on the 1600. Should I be looking for a specific type of probe?

Thanks,
Dean

User avatar
Wowbagger
Aeroflex
Posts: 1287
Joined: Tue Dec 10, 2002 10:46 am

Re: Another IFR1600S Question

Postby Wowbagger » Tue Sep 16, 2014 3:44 am

No, they are supposed to be standard banana jacks with shrouds, like any DMM.
This is my opinion, not Aeroflex's.

I WILL NOT give you proprietary information. I make too much money to jeopardize my job.

I AM NOT the Service department: You want official info, manuals, service info, parts, calibration, etc., contact Aeroflex directly, please.

W4DDM
New User
Posts: 6
Joined: Fri Sep 12, 2014 9:10 pm

Re: Another IFR1600S Question

Postby W4DDM » Tue Sep 16, 2014 1:12 pm

I guess it just the type that I have. My desktop DMM uses this kind of probe with the plastic shield over the banana post and these won't fit it.

Image

jry
Posts: 402
Joined: Fri Feb 06, 2004 3:14 pm

Re: Another IFR1600S Question

Postby jry » Wed Sep 17, 2014 8:41 am

the lead set for the 1600 can use a standard uncovered banana plug. Typically use a standard Banana to BNC adapter on those inputs

Believe the 1600/1900 lead set was initially from Coline and had a retractable banana plug cover but was deeper insertion than the standard Coline set that was used with HP and other meters.

You could modify a typical set to remove the banana cover and increase the insertion depth slightly on the remaining insulator.

W4DDM
New User
Posts: 6
Joined: Fri Sep 12, 2014 9:10 pm

Re: Another IFR1600S Question

Postby W4DDM » Wed Sep 17, 2014 8:37 pm

I ordered a couple extra sets of probes. Once they get here I will cut off the shield and give it a go.



Dean


Return to “Test Equipment & RF Equipment Alignment”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests