Users may not create topics, posts, or private messages containing or relating to the following material (especially pertaining to Motorola copyrighted software, unless you want Motorola to come along and shut this site down):

  • Listing for sale or trade of, or links to sites offering for sale or trade of, or giving away, Radio
    Service Software (RSS) or Customer Programming Software (CPS)
  • Profanity, pornography, defamation, or slanderous remarks directed towards any individual or entity
  • Commercial advertising (except in the Batboard Vendors forum, as approved by the Admin/Mod Staff)
  • Any other items which may be deemed as offensive

If any topics, posts, or private messages containing or relating to the aforementioned material are brought to the attention of the Admin/Mod Staff, they will be deleted.

Additional FAQ items appear here in Forum Rules. Please review them for posting guidelines and further clarification.

R2670A RF I/O not working

This forum exists for the purposes for discussing service monitors (This includes but is not limited to Motorola, HP, Aeroflex, GD, etc). Additional topics allowed include test procedures, interpretation of test results, where to find information about specific tests, antenna VSWR, return loss testing, duplexer and filter alignment, etc.

Moderator: Queue Moderator

radiocat37
Posts: 208
Joined: Mon Sep 22, 2003 9:59 am

R2670A RF I/O not working

Postby radiocat37 » Mon Jan 15, 2018 11:49 am

I have an R2760A that passes all calibration tests and both the ANT port and the Gen out port are fine. Does the RF I/O port have a fuse like the others? No signal comes out of the RF I/O port and no signal goes into the port; at least not showing on the screen. Every other function seems to work just fine. Analyzer is very clean and is well cared for.

Any help and/or advice appreciated. I do have another analyzer (R2600B) to assist with diagnosing.
Brian Griffin: Ah, if my memory serves me, this is the physics department.
Chris Griffin: That would explain all the gravity.
.

Lois: Peter, you're drunk again.
Peter: No, I'm just exhausted because I've been up all night drinking.

radiocat37
Posts: 208
Joined: Mon Sep 22, 2003 9:59 am

Re: R2670A RF I/O not working

Postby radiocat37 » Mon Jan 15, 2018 1:50 pm

A follow up. I looked through some posts and am going to remove the bottom and see if the center pin connection is intact; also ohm it out and check that.
Brian Griffin: Ah, if my memory serves me, this is the physics department.

Chris Griffin: That would explain all the gravity.

.



Lois: Peter, you're drunk again.

Peter: No, I'm just exhausted because I've been up all night drinking.

jry
Posts: 354
Joined: Fri Feb 06, 2004 3:14 pm

Re: R2670A RF I/O not working

Postby jry » Mon Jan 15, 2018 3:13 pm

you can just measure at the N connector ...should see 50 ohms.

sometimes its the connection but more often the attenuator is blown/failed.

radiocat37
Posts: 208
Joined: Mon Sep 22, 2003 9:59 am

Re: R2670A RF I/O not working

Postby radiocat37 » Tue Jan 16, 2018 5:57 am

I do have 50 ohms at the N-connector. As far as the attenuator, what does that entail to fix? And if doable are parts readily available?
Brian Griffin: Ah, if my memory serves me, this is the physics department.

Chris Griffin: That would explain all the gravity.

.



Lois: Peter, you're drunk again.

Peter: No, I'm just exhausted because I've been up all night drinking.

jry
Posts: 354
Joined: Fri Feb 06, 2004 3:14 pm

Re: R2670A RF I/O not working

Postby jry » Tue Jan 16, 2018 8:32 am

I would look internally then on the RF I/O wattmeter module.

Measure the resistance at the input attenuator output. ( PCB side as opposed to the N connector ) That should be lower ...around 25-30 ohms IIRC. If you get something else CAREFULLY lift the tab from the PCB and that should measure 50 ohms.

If you are lucky it's not the input attenuator and just something further back. The part itself is extremely expensive and was calibrated as a unit with the rest of the module at the factory. The replacement parts are very very close so that doesn't throw it off too badly ...spec was +- 5% on the wattemeter anyway.

The input attenuator feeds into another attenuator and I believe the power measurement diode at that point .

Usually when those fail it will read open from the N connector. You may want to inspect the connection ribbon from the N connector to the pad itself for any cracks or breaks just in case it's intermittent.

Even when they fail you will get something on the RF I/O ...will be 20-30 db off but something.

You can PM if you want on repair options.


Return to “Test Equipment & RF Equipment Alignment”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests