Page 1 of 1

R2001A CRT Help Please

Posted: Wed May 18, 2011 4:29 am
by nm4v
I know it is old but it is mine. My R2001A crt has played out no display. Everything else appears to still be working. I still have high voltage but nothing on the screen. What options are there to get this fine unit back in shape or should I part it out for parts and boards?

Re: R2001A CRT Help Please

Posted: Wed May 18, 2011 6:52 am
by nm4v
No output on the unit for another monitor. Using the unit on the bench to do some part time repairs doesn't justify spending a bunch for a new one. Additional info:
1 The CRT is not totally out, it is just dim. With the intensity all the way up it is semi-usable.
2 I found that the large cap in the Low voltage supply is open will need to replace it with a suitable cap, might have a bit to do with the problem.

Re: R2001A CRT Help Please

Posted: Thu Sep 29, 2011 3:32 am
by VE3TUH
Isnt that a common and well known problem with that service monitor? I also have one, my display is still usable so I am ok for now, but my question is, was there ever a source BESIDES Motorola to replace that crt for a reasonable amount?

Randy

Re: R2001A CRT Help Please

Posted: Fri Sep 30, 2011 8:02 am
by DJP126
VE3TUH wrote:Isnt that a common and well known problem with that service monitor? I also have one, my display is still usable so I am ok for now, but my question is, was there ever a source BESIDES Motorola to replace that crt for a reasonable amount?

Randy



The CRT in the R2000 series was built by Telefunkin in Germany and to the best of my knowledge, Motorola was the only supplier. I agree that it is an expensive part, however, when I was working at the Test Equipment Depot, the price charged was the actual COST of the tube. Motorola didn't make a penny of profit on that particular CRT. You might find another supplier, but it will cost more.

Re: R2001A CRT Help Please

Posted: Sat Oct 01, 2011 5:37 am
by Andy Corbin
nm4v wrote:I know it is old but it is mine. My R2001A crt has played out no display. Everything else appears to still be working. I still have high voltage but nothing on the screen. What options are there to get this fine unit back in shape or should I part it out for parts and boards?


Seems I have seen some of these on Ebay from time to time. Perhaps keep an open search there and it might prove beneficial.

Andy