Users may not create topics, posts, or private messages containing or relating to the following material (especially pertaining to Motorola copyrighted software, unless you want Motorola to come along and shut this site down):

  • Listing for sale or trade of, or links to sites offering for sale or trade of, or giving away, Radio
    Service Software (RSS) or Customer Programming Software (CPS)
  • Profanity, pornography, defamation, or slanderous remarks directed towards any individual or entity
  • Commercial advertising (except in the Batboard Vendors forum, as approved by the Admin/Mod Staff)
  • Any other items which may be deemed as offensive

If any topics, posts, or private messages containing or relating to the aforementioned material are brought to the attention of the Admin/Mod Staff, they will be deleted.

Additional FAQ items appear here in Forum Rules. Please review them for posting guidelines and further clarification.

Astro Spectra "squelch" level

Moderator: Queue Moderator

ClyneSnowtail
New User
Posts: 2
Joined: Wed Aug 08, 2018 9:32 pm

Astro Spectra "squelch" level

Postby ClyneSnowtail » Sun Sep 30, 2018 10:35 pm

I am currently in the process of running through four Range 3 UHF high power AS that me and a few friends went in together on, and part of what I did was characterize the RX performance in preparation of possibly adding preamp to all them. Pick the worst one and add it and see if its worth the effort before doing the other 3.
I was attempting to get 12db and 20db SINAD readings but I had a problem getting the 12db so I ended up just using when the radio opened squelch.
Of the 4 there are two 2005 builds, a '99 and a '98.
The 2005 Astros open up at 8-10db. No problem there finding 12db.
But the two older units open at 13-14db. So they are already past the 12db point and as a result in my spreadsheet these two look worse however if you look at the 20db numbers they are all within a db or two of the newer units.

Im wondering if there is a way to tweak the older units to open up a little earlier. I havent found anything in CPS or Tuner.

Thanks for any replies even if its just "Not possible"

kd5ual
Posts: 42
Joined: Tue Feb 15, 2005 10:28 am

Re: Astro Spectra "squelch" level

Postby kd5ual » Wed Oct 03, 2018 6:26 pm

yes it is possible however it involves editing the srecord
there is a post on the other M support site with details
wendell


Return to “ASTRO Series (Astro Saber, Spectra, XTS3000/3500) Subscribers”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest