MTVA amp on XTVA????

Moderator: Queue Moderator

Post Reply
mogman
Posts: 126
Joined: Tue Aug 05, 2008 2:25 pm

MTVA amp on XTVA????

Post by mogman »

Can a MTVA "control unit" be used on a XTVA (STX3K) ???
I have a complete 800MHz unit but would like to use it on VHF, looks like I can use it without the amp, but.........
User avatar
fineshot1
Posts: 1088
Joined: Wed Oct 12, 2005 5:13 am

Re: MTVA amp on XTVA????

Post by fineshot1 »

mogman wrote:Can a MTVA "control unit" be used on a XTVA (STX3K) ???
I have a complete 800MHz unit but would like to use it on VHF, looks like I can use it without the amp, but.........
If you have the MTVA control unit that also has an rf amp built into it
you can use the rf amp but only on the band it is built for. Not all of
the MTVA control units have rf amps built into them. There was a band
independent control unit without an rf amp built into it.

It would help us to know exactly what parts you have - list them for us
fineshot1
NJ USA
mogman
Posts: 126
Joined: Tue Aug 05, 2008 2:25 pm

Re: MTVA amp on XTVA????

Post by mogman »

Thanks for the info, I am looking on fleabay and see several "VHF" MTVA control units for pretty cheap, of course there are also many 2M "bricks" out there that should do the job. So I do not have a specific part number to list.
resqguy911
Posts: 612
Joined: Sat Jun 26, 2004 3:35 pm

Re: MTVA amp on XTVA????

Post by resqguy911 »

If you aren't aware, TPL makes the official XTVA amplifier. Here's a VHF one on ebay http://www.ebay.com/itm/TPL-Communicati ... SwLmZZsg8U
"TDMA = digital and same great taste, half the bits"
mogman
Posts: 126
Joined: Tue Aug 05, 2008 2:25 pm

Re: MTVA amp on XTVA????

Post by mogman »

Thanks, don't think my little XTS would put out the 20-40W needed to drive it, I assume it is to be used with the factory XTVA amp.
motorola_otaku
Posts: 1854
Joined: Tue Jan 13, 2004 7:03 am

Re: MTVA amp on XTVA????

Post by motorola_otaku »

He linked you the wrong amp. The XTVA amp takes 1-3W in for 20-45W out. Any generic amp that fits those specs will work - I've used old Saber SVA amps on XTVAs with no problem.

Also the MTVA amps aren't just dumb amps, they also contain control circuitry for the MTVA itself - it's not self-contained like the XTVA is. Hence why a no-amp version exists.
resqguy911
Posts: 612
Joined: Sat Jun 26, 2004 3:35 pm

Re: MTVA amp on XTVA????

Post by resqguy911 »

motorola_otaku wrote:He linked you the wrong amp. The XTVA amp takes 1-3W in for 20-45W out. Any generic amp that fits those specs will work - I've used old Saber SVA amps on XTVAs with no problem.
Yep, sure did. good catch
"TDMA = digital and same great taste, half the bits"
User avatar
fineshot1
Posts: 1088
Joined: Wed Oct 12, 2005 5:13 am

Re: MTVA and XTVA rf amps

Post by fineshot1 »

Here are all the actual part numbers for each the MTVA and XTVA rf amps below.

XTVA RF Power amplifiers (TPL):
NLD1976 VHF
NLE1784 UHF 403-470
NLE1785 UHF 450-512
NLF1258 800



MTVA kit N1671A, consisting of NTN1340A holder, plus control unit [one of: NTN1322A

(universal w/o RFPA), NTN1323A (w/ VHF RFPA), NTN1324A (w/ UHF RFPA), NTN1325A (w/

800 RFPA), or NTN1326A (w/ 900 RFPA)]
fineshot1
NJ USA
Post Reply

Return to “ASTRO Series (Astro Saber, Spectra, XTS3000/3500) Subscribers”