Users may not create topics, posts, or private messages containing or relating to the following material (especially pertaining to Motorola copyrighted software, unless you want Motorola to come along and shut this site down):

  • Listing for sale or trade of, or links to sites offering for sale or trade of, or giving away, Radio
    Service Software (RSS) or Customer Programming Software (CPS)
  • Profanity, pornography, defamation, or slanderous remarks directed towards any individual or entity
  • Commercial advertising (except in the Batboard Vendors forum, as approved by the Admin/Mod Staff)
  • Any other items which may be deemed as offensive

If any topics, posts, or private messages containing or relating to the aforementioned material are brought to the attention of the Admin/Mod Staff, they will be deleted.

Additional FAQ items appear here in Forum Rules. Please review them for posting guidelines and further clarification.

XTS1500 Channel Announcement

Moderator: Queue Moderator

Jay G.
Batboard $upporter
Posts: 378
Joined: Fri Sep 21, 2001 4:00 pm

XTS1500 Channel Announcement

Postby Jay G. » Thu May 02, 2019 10:59 am

Hello all.

Just bought some used XTS1500's UHF. Was under the impression that they all came with channel announcement now. Obviously these didnt.. THey are updated with the latest firmware. It's greyed out on the screen. Any ideas??
Jay Goldmark, EMT
Ex-Captain, Woodmere Vol. Fire Dept.
Fire District Communications Supv.
KC2ZHI Amateur Radio Operator
Licensed Master Electrician
Owner, Top Class Electric, LLC.
Woodmere, Long Island, NY


"Enjoy Life, it's not a dress rehearsal !!!"

************************************************************

C17LVFD
Posts: 87
Joined: Tue Apr 22, 2008 9:47 am

Re: XTS1500 Channel Announcement

Postby C17LVFD » Thu May 02, 2019 11:07 am

It’s a flash option.
Q446 is the feature. If it’s not in the feature set it won’t work. Motorola is not longer selling flash upgrades to my knowledge.

Good Luck,
Seth
Seth

Jay G.
Batboard $upporter
Posts: 378
Joined: Fri Sep 21, 2001 4:00 pm

Re: XTS1500 Channel Announcement

Postby Jay G. » Thu May 02, 2019 3:14 pm

So if Motorola wont add it, is there any other way?? Hex editing?? etc??
Jay Goldmark, EMT
Ex-Captain, Woodmere Vol. Fire Dept.
Fire District Communications Supv.
KC2ZHI Amateur Radio Operator
Licensed Master Electrician
Owner, Top Class Electric, LLC.
Woodmere, Long Island, NY


"Enjoy Life, it's not a dress rehearsal !!!"

************************************************************

NHfirefighter
Posts: 357
Joined: Mon Jun 05, 2006 4:12 am

Re: XTS1500 Channel Announcement

Postby NHfirefighter » Thu May 02, 2019 4:17 pm

Are these AN or BN models? This is the last two digits in the model number. Not sure if AN might have any issues due to the memory size on these radios.

I believe channel announcement is native to 1500/2500 series but requires it in the flash code for 5000 series.

Check a couple of things. First in radio wide is the check box for channel announcement checked? Additionally in CPS settings ( it sure on the exact name it is in the drop downs above) you need to make sure read/write voice files is enabled.

C17LVFD
Posts: 87
Joined: Tue Apr 22, 2008 9:47 am

Re: XTS1500 Channel Announcement

Postby C17LVFD » Thu May 02, 2019 6:10 pm

I just check a xts2500 1.5 I have and it does have the channel announcement feature in the flash. Can’t speak to one that doesn’t as to whether it would work or not. I’d be inclined to believe not based on mine having the feature in the flashcode.

At this point there isn’t any legal way to upgrade the flash that I’m aware of short of sending the radio back to the Depot.

Respectfully,
Seth
Seth


Return to “ASTRO25 Series (XTS/XTL 1500/2500/5000) Subscribers”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest