Users may not create topics, posts, or private messages containing or relating to the following material (especially pertaining to Motorola copyrighted software, unless you want Motorola to come along and shut this site down):

  • Listing for sale or trade of, or links to sites offering for sale or trade of, or giving away, Radio
    Service Software (RSS) or Customer Programming Software (CPS)
  • Profanity, pornography, defamation, or slanderous remarks directed towards any individual or entity
  • Commercial advertising (except in the Batboard Vendors forum, as approved by the Admin/Mod Staff)
  • Any other items which may be deemed as offensive

If any topics, posts, or private messages containing or relating to the aforementioned material are brought to the attention of the Admin/Mod Staff, they will be deleted.

Additional FAQ items appear here in Forum Rules. Please review them for posting guidelines and further clarification.

XTL2500 dual head setup

Moderator: Queue Moderator

User avatar
jban
Posts: 379
Joined: Tue Nov 23, 2004 8:26 am
What radios do you own?: AS mob, ASIII, XTS2500/5000,

XTL2500 dual head setup

Postby jban » Thu Apr 09, 2020 5:20 pm

Trying to set up a RM XTL2500 with two 05 heads. Having trouble getting both heads to come up. With 1 head I can go in and program for dual head setup (setting both heads active) and it loads. Upon reboot it flashes "missing channel" and goes to channel 1 (only have 2 channels loaded until I get this fixed). When I connect the second head they both display "ch id & ERR". The screens have no backlight either. I have power from control head 1 connected (red/yel) and have tried with power connected and disconneted to head 2. No luck. Any help appreciated.
John B

User avatar
crazyboy
Posts: 365
Joined: Fri Aug 27, 2004 10:29 am

Re: XTL2500 dual head setup

Postby crazyboy » Thu Apr 09, 2020 5:28 pm

Missing CH means missing control head not missing channel. Do you have one control head set as CH1 and the other as CH2? 12v power for CH2 needs to be connected, only CH1 needs ignition.

User avatar
jban
Posts: 379
Joined: Tue Nov 23, 2004 8:26 am
What radios do you own?: AS mob, ASIII, XTS2500/5000,

Re: XTL2500 dual head setup

Postby jban » Thu Apr 09, 2020 6:52 pm

I had given the control heads names in CPS. Will try defaluts CH 1 & 2. I will also disconnect the ign on CH 2 and see how that works.

While I am at it. This is being set up for a station base. Can I still pull line level audio off the accessory connector?

Thanks
John B

JeffFireRadio
Posts: 338
Joined: Tue Feb 14, 2006 5:39 am

Re: XTL2500 dual head setup

Postby JeffFireRadio » Fri Apr 10, 2020 9:51 am

Independent of CPS and the drawer unit, you program control heads to CH1 and CH2 via each control head's own self-contained programming mode (multi-button press/hold, power on sequence). Are you familiar with this sequence? The drawer is not a player nor connected at this point. When you've got them set to CH1 and CH2 (mark them with a label for future purposes), then you can setup multiple control heads in CPS and you're good to go.

User avatar
jban
Posts: 379
Joined: Tue Nov 23, 2004 8:26 am
What radios do you own?: AS mob, ASIII, XTS2500/5000,

Re: XTL2500 dual head setup

Postby jban » Fri Apr 10, 2020 1:55 pm

Not familiar with that. Can you please provide steps
John B

User avatar
crazyboy
Posts: 365
Joined: Fri Aug 27, 2004 10:29 am

Re: XTL2500 dual head setup

Postby crazyboy » Sat Apr 11, 2020 4:21 am

Only because I'm feeling extra kind this morning.

https://co.summitoh.net/800mhz/images/s ... tl2500.pdf Page 29

User avatar
jban
Posts: 379
Joined: Tue Nov 23, 2004 8:26 am
What radios do you own?: AS mob, ASIII, XTS2500/5000,

Re: XTL2500 dual head setup

Postby jban » Sat Apr 11, 2020 6:14 am

Thanks
John B

JeffFireRadio
Posts: 338
Joined: Tue Feb 14, 2006 5:39 am

Re: XTL2500 dual head setup

Postby JeffFireRadio » Sun Apr 12, 2020 5:30 am

Did you get what you needed? Sorry, I don't check this site daily.

User avatar
jban
Posts: 379
Joined: Tue Nov 23, 2004 8:26 am
What radios do you own?: AS mob, ASIII, XTS2500/5000,

Re: XTL2500 dual head setup

Postby jban » Sun Apr 12, 2020 9:12 am

I believe so. Will work on it tomorrow. Thank you for the assistance and information
John B

User avatar
jban
Posts: 379
Joined: Tue Nov 23, 2004 8:26 am
What radios do you own?: AS mob, ASIII, XTS2500/5000,

Re: XTL2500 dual head setup

Postby jban » Tue Apr 14, 2020 4:57 pm

Thank you for the help. All programmed up now
John B

JeffFireRadio
Posts: 338
Joined: Tue Feb 14, 2006 5:39 am

Re: XTL2500 dual head setup

Postby JeffFireRadio » Tue Apr 14, 2020 5:36 pm

Yea! Congrats.


Return to “ASTRO25 Series (XTS/XTL 1500/2500/5000) Subscribers”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest