PM1500 FW Upgrade Problem

Moderator: Queue Moderator

Post Reply
JeffFireRadio
Posts: 338
Joined: Tue Feb 14, 2006 5:39 am

PM1500 FW Upgrade Problem

Post by JeffFireRadio »

Greetings. I have a PM1500 VHF from 2006 with original drawer, head, and accessories that simply will not take a firmware upgrade. We're trying to make it a dual head setup, and very early FW versions of this radio didn't support that, if I remember correctly. I have spent 24 hours trying every permutation of serial, USB, a second control head, control head port programming, drawer programming, numerous FW R20.xx.xx versions, etc. and have come up empty. I'm using CPS 20.01.00. I get to step 12 of 20 (starting hardware flash) and error out after a few minutes with retries doing nothing for me. Eventually, I cancel, closing the port and end up with a "a component's version was not readable" message at this point. The radio reads and writes fine for programming and I have no 'maintenance mode' or error codes at anytime.

From years of flash experience, I know a jump from R08 to R20 can make things challenging, but I don't any longer have any FWs in between to try to bridge with gap with a multi-upgrade step up from there to here (R08 to R12 to R16 to R20, for example).

I did see something on a Batlabs search that made a disparaging comment about R08.xx.xx FW. Is that my downfall? I'm hoping to avoid a depot trip for this unit. Any ideas or help available? Many thanks!

M79KTD9PW1AN
483YGSxxxx
Flash 4000410020009
Codeplug 0024
FW R08.01.01
DSP R08.00.00


- Jeff
User avatar
spectragod
Posts: 2020
Joined: Sun Dec 30, 2001 4:00 pm
What radios do you own?: FPP 6 meter XTL 5K's

Re: PM1500 FW Upgrade Problem

Post by spectragod »

What cable are you using? IIRC, a serial cable is needed to flash the earlier FW.
Kilgore: Smell that? You smell that?
Lance: What?
Kilgore: Napalm, son. Nothing in the world smells like that.
Kilgore: I love the smell of napalm in the morning. You know, one time we had a hill bombed, for 12 hours. When it was all over, I walked up. We didn't find one of 'em, not one stinkin' dink body. The smell, you know that gasoline smell, the whole hill. Smelled like... victory. Someday this war's gonna end...

____________
Revelation 6:8
User avatar
spectragod
Posts: 2020
Joined: Sun Dec 30, 2001 4:00 pm
What radios do you own?: FPP 6 meter XTL 5K's

Re: PM1500 FW Upgrade Problem

Post by spectragod »

I answered my own question by re-reading your post. Are you using a flash dongle, or just trying to do it the dirty way?

I do have earlier CVN files, but they are large, I could possibly flash the FW on the radio for you.
Kilgore: Smell that? You smell that?
Lance: What?
Kilgore: Napalm, son. Nothing in the world smells like that.
Kilgore: I love the smell of napalm in the morning. You know, one time we had a hill bombed, for 12 hours. When it was all over, I walked up. We didn't find one of 'em, not one stinkin' dink body. The smell, you know that gasoline smell, the whole hill. Smelled like... victory. Someday this war's gonna end...

____________
Revelation 6:8
JeffFireRadio
Posts: 338
Joined: Tue Feb 14, 2006 5:39 am

Re: PM1500 FW Upgrade Problem

Post by JeffFireRadio »

Thanks for the words. Yes, I've tried both serial and USB. I am aware of the need for serial on early FWs, but have had to experiment out of desperation on a finicky radio or two over the years and have actually had an early FW take a new version with a USB before...not sure how/why it worked, but it did. Not this time, though.

Yes, I'm using a legitimate refresh dongle for the flash attempt. Two, actually...trying to rule out any one single point of failure.

From your last sentence, yes, If you've got another attempt method, I'm in. Let me know. Thanks.

- Jeff
Post Reply

Return to “ASTRO25 Series (XTS/XTL 1500/2500/5000) Subscribers”