Users may not create topics, posts, or private messages containing or relating to the following material (especially pertaining to Motorola copyrighted software, unless you want Motorola to come along and shut this site down):

  • Listing for sale or trade of, or links to sites offering for sale or trade of, or giving away, Radio
    Service Software (RSS) or Customer Programming Software (CPS)
  • Profanity, pornography, defamation, or slanderous remarks directed towards any individual or entity
  • Commercial advertising (except in the Batboard Vendors forum, as approved by the Admin/Mod Staff)
  • Any other items which may be deemed as offensive

If any topics, posts, or private messages containing or relating to the aforementioned material are brought to the attention of the Admin/Mod Staff, they will be deleted.

Additional FAQ items appear here in Forum Rules. Please review them for posting guidelines and further clarification.

XTS5000 scan issue

Moderator: Queue Moderator

User avatar
FireCpt809
Posts: 1814
Joined: Sat Jan 19, 2002 4:00 pm
What radios do you own?: Alot..

XTS5000 scan issue

Postby FireCpt809 » Wed Jul 26, 2017 7:20 pm

This one has me pulling my hair out...Have an XTS5000 MII 7/800 set up for Non-affiliate scan a p25 9600 system for the last few months its been fine. Now when it sits on one talkgroup Zone 1 Ch1 its scanning 9 other talkgroups. It is fine for about 10-30 minutes then stops scanning and goes deaf. I know there is traffic as I have an XTS3000 set up the same way on the same talkgroups. I switch channels and it works fine.. Checked all the scan settings.. nothing changed or obvious.. My thoughts are a bad rotary switch or volume pot... its driving me nuts... oh the firmware is older 12.0.01 maybe that is an issue?

User avatar
motorola_otaku
Posts: 1854
Joined: Tue Jan 13, 2004 7:03 am
What radios do you own?: 2 turntables and a microphone

Re: XTS5000 scan issue

Postby motorola_otaku » Thu Jul 27, 2017 2:47 pm

What are your conventional and trunking hang times set to? Conventional should be set to 1 (minimum) and trunking set to 255 (max.)
When exposed to Rapid Fire Growth or Thermal Emergency, two things are lost:
1. Ability to use fine motor skills
2. Presence of mind

Karl NVW
Posts: 88
Joined: Wed Sep 03, 2003 7:13 am

Re: XTS5000 scan issue

Postby Karl NVW » Wed Apr 04, 2018 3:54 pm

Could be the zone controller's Site Affiliation timer is shutting off the site when there are no radios on that TG registered at that specific site.
Normal default is either 6 8 hours, but some sys ops set it a lot shorter to release unused channels in areas where there may be a lot of roamers using their TGs outside of home area).
Karl - WA8NVW AFA5VB
SHARES + NCS

JPOPatents
Posts: 288
Joined: Thu Sep 25, 2008 7:36 pm

Re: XTS5000 scan issue

Postby JPOPatents » Thu Apr 05, 2018 4:26 pm

If it was working before, then your firmware or settings shouldn't be the problem. However, the fact that you can bring the radio alive again by channel channels indicates that you have a problem related to your settings. Your XTS3000 will perform completely differently, particularly since you are using a "special" firmware version for 9600 trunking on that radio. Something could have changed on the system that is affecting your XTS5000 but not your XTS3000. Firmware version R12.0.01 is ancient for that radio and you will get better performance overall if you upgrade to R20.50.09. Try upgrading and see if that makes a difference.
-John

User avatar
FireCpt809
Posts: 1814
Joined: Sat Jan 19, 2002 4:00 pm
What radios do you own?: Alot..

Re: XTS5000 scan issue

Postby FireCpt809 » Fri Apr 06, 2018 7:15 pm

Issue was resolved last year....changed the case and its fine. Bad channel selector


Return to “ASTRO25 Series (XTS/XTL 1500/2500/5000) Subscribers”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests