APX1500 and MDC unit number decode

Covering the following Subscriber devices: APX1000/1500, APX3000, APX4000/4500, APX6000, APX6000XE, APX6500, APX7000, APX7000XE, APX7000L, APX7500, and APX8000.

Moderator: Queue Moderator

Post Reply
User avatar
arlojanis
Posts: 1025
Joined: Mon Jan 28, 2002 4:00 pm

APX1500 and MDC unit number decode

Post by arlojanis »

I have programmed a new APX1500 with a MDC system and it does not decode unit numbers. I did not program and do not use MDC encode. Is MDC decode standard in all APX or is it an option? If standard what is most common program mistake?
"The world runs on radio."
C17LVFD
Posts: 111
Joined: Tue Apr 22, 2008 9:47 am

Re: APX1500 and MDC unit number decode

Post by C17LVFD »

Yes MDC is standard.

In display, the show id has to be enabled. In the personality, the personality has to be referenced to the ID list. Last, you need the unified call list setup and referencing the various IDs within the call list.

Truthfully it’s a PITA to get everything setup properly. I think those are the big ones, but may have missed something (off the top of my head).

Best of luck!
Seth
Seth
User avatar
arlojanis
Posts: 1025
Joined: Mon Jan 28, 2002 4:00 pm

Re: APX1500 and MDC unit number decode

Post by arlojanis »

Are you saying I need to program a list of every MDC unit number in the county before I can see MDC id's on radio display.
"The world runs on radio."
User avatar
alex
Administrator
Posts: 5757
Joined: Mon Sep 03, 2001 4:00 pm

Re: APX1500 and MDC unit number decode

Post by alex »

Only if you want Aliased names.

For example the radio will say:

ID: 12A

If you want it show "arlojanis" then you would need to make a call list with 12A as the MDC alias and assign that call list to the personality to get it to decode.

If you have 1000 ID's you'll have to manually enter them in 1000 times, or, do what a lot of us do - use Akardam's tool or write your own import script that converts a CSV to XML for import in to the CPS (much cleaner & faster!)

Alex
The Radio Information Board: http://www.radioinfoboard.com
Your source for information on: Harris/Ma-Comm/EFJ/RELM/Kenwood/ICOM/Thales, equipment.
User avatar
arlojanis
Posts: 1025
Joined: Mon Jan 28, 2002 4:00 pm

Re: APX1500 and MDC unit number decode

Post by arlojanis »

This is VHF conventional and I just want to display the MDC unit number of the received signal.
"The world runs on radio."
Post Reply

Return to “APX Series Subscribers”