APX7000 and Type II

Covering the following Subscriber devices: APX1000/1500, APX3000, APX4000/4500, APX6000, APX6000XE, APX6500, APX7000, APX7000XE, APX7000L, APX7500, and APX8000.

Moderator: Queue Moderator

Post Reply
fchrist16
Posts: 337
Joined: Sun May 24, 2009 12:23 am
What radios do you own?: Desktrac, XTL/XTS's & XPR's

APX7000 and Type II

Post by fchrist16 »

Okay, so I know it supposedly can be done, but when I go to select a Trunk system to change it from ASTRO 25 to Type II, I do not get a Type II option. I do have SMARTZONE and OmniLink enabled in the Flashcode.

What am I missing? I'm new to the APX series but not programming RX ONLY Trunking...

Regards,

-Frank C.
fchrist16
Posts: 337
Joined: Sun May 24, 2009 12:23 am
What radios do you own?: Desktrac, XTL/XTS's & XPR's

Re: APX7000 and Type II

Post by fchrist16 »

Anyone?

Regards,

-Frank C.
fchrist16
Posts: 337
Joined: Sun May 24, 2009 12:23 am
What radios do you own?: Desktrac, XTL/XTS's & XPR's

Re: APX7000 and Type II - SOLVED

Post by fchrist16 »

SOLVED.

Turns out P25 CAI and Type II CAN NOT exist in the SAME Flashcode.

Regards,

-Frank C.
User avatar
escomm
Queue Moderator
Posts: 5168
Joined: Fri Mar 24, 2006 8:24 pm

Re: APX7000 and Type II - SOLVED

Post by escomm »

fchrist16 wrote:SOLVED.

Turns out P25 CAI and Type II CAN NOT exist in the SAME Flashcode.

Regards,

-Frank C.
Since when?
User avatar
spectragod
Posts: 2020
Joined: Sun Dec 30, 2001 4:00 pm
What radios do you own?: FPP 6 meter XTL 5K's

Re: APX7000 and Type II - SOLVED

Post by spectragod »

fchrist16 wrote:SOLVED.

Turns out P25 CAI and Type II CAN NOT exist in the SAME Flashcode.

Regards,

-Frank C.
We have a whole fleet of them, ordered from M that way.
Kilgore: Smell that? You smell that?
Lance: What?
Kilgore: Napalm, son. Nothing in the world smells like that.
Kilgore: I love the smell of napalm in the morning. You know, one time we had a hill bombed, for 12 hours. When it was all over, I walked up. We didn't find one of 'em, not one stinkin' dink body. The smell, you know that gasoline smell, the whole hill. Smelled like... victory. Someday this war's gonna end...

____________
Revelation 6:8
N4DES-old
New User
Posts: 2
Joined: Fri Sep 30, 2016 3:56 pm

Re: APX7000 and Type II - SOLVED

Post by N4DES-old »

fchrist16 wrote:SOLVED.

Turns out P25 CAI and Type II CAN NOT exist in the SAME Flashcode.

Regards,

-Frank C.
Yeah that is not accurate at all. Like others I have a number of APX's in service that are fully capable and operational doing both technologies. Post your FC so we can see it.
fchrist16
Posts: 337
Joined: Sun May 24, 2009 12:23 am
What radios do you own?: Desktrac, XTL/XTS's & XPR's

Re: APX7000 and Type II - SOLVED

Post by fchrist16 »

escomm wrote:
fchrist16 wrote:SOLVED.

Turns out P25 CAI and Type II CAN NOT exist in the SAME Flashcode.

Regards,

-Frank C.
Since when?
According to the various flash codes I've seen you can't have both. :o

Regards,

-Frank C.
fchrist16
Posts: 337
Joined: Sun May 24, 2009 12:23 am
What radios do you own?: Desktrac, XTL/XTS's & XPR's

Re: APX7000 and Type II - SOLVED

Post by fchrist16 »

N4DES wrote:
fchrist16 wrote:SOLVED.

Turns out P25 CAI and Type II CAN NOT exist in the SAME Flashcode.

Regards,

-Frank C.
Yeah that is not accurate at all. Like others I have a number of APX's in service that are fully capable and operational doing both technologies. Post your FC so we can see it.
According to the CPS read, as far as I know, 1G817C-80H683-5 is the Flashcode that won't allow P25 CAI with Type II.

Regards,

-Frank C.
User avatar
mikegilbert
Posts: 655
Joined: Thu Nov 14, 2002 12:08 am
What radios do you own?: All of them

Re: APX7000 and Type II

Post by mikegilbert »

Looks like you've got H37 and H38 in there. That looks like your problem.

H38 includes SmartNet operation, so having both is causing problems.

To echo what others have said, you can have both P25 and Type II in the same radio.
flickr | mikegilbertphotography.com
escomm wrote:Awesomesauce
fchrist16
Posts: 337
Joined: Sun May 24, 2009 12:23 am
What radios do you own?: Desktrac, XTL/XTS's & XPR's

Re: APX7000 and Type II

Post by fchrist16 »

I'll have to see what the shop says about taking one or the other out! Thanks.

Regards,

-Frank C.
Post Reply

Return to “APX Series Subscribers”