APX 8000 and MPL plus 900MHz

Covering the following Subscriber devices: APX1000/1500, APX3000, APX4000/4500, APX6000, APX6000XE, APX6500, APX7000, APX7000XE, APX7000L, APX7500, and APX8000.

Moderator: Queue Moderator

Post Reply
WB5ITT
Posts: 57
Joined: Thu Sep 01, 2005 8:09 am
What radios do you own?: Motorola, GE, Kenwood, Yaesu

APX 8000 and MPL plus 900MHz

Post by WB5ITT »

Tried searching but didnt see this as a previous post.
APX8000XE....trying to set up MPL so I can change PL on the fly on ham entries...set the MPL list 1 up and uploaded CPG to radio (CPS R27.0) ...never saw a softkey for MPL (It was added in the CPS features and buttons, etc) and the radio started to beep and give me an EMPTY LIST on the screen. SO reloaded previous CPG. Any ideas??

Also the CPS says it should cover up to 941MHZ but I tried putting 902/927 ham freq in and no joy.....any comments/ideas??

Thanks!
Chris WB5ITT
Trustee, W5APX
Radio Communications Tech, TX DPS
Region 2 - Beaumont, TX
Motorola, you may find better but you'll never pay more! 😉
C17LVFD
Posts: 111
Joined: Tue Apr 22, 2008 9:47 am

Re: APX 8000 and MPL plus 900MHz

Post by C17LVFD »

Chris,

MPL is enabled on a personality level with a checkbox per frequency line something like user defined PL. it’s before you set ur PLs in each frequency line. This grays out the PL/DPLs.

Then MPL shows up on a channel by channel basis in the soft keys for those channels that have it enabled.

As to 900 on the 8000XE. Personally, I’ve never seen or known 900 to be an option VHF, UHF 7/800 is all that I’m aware of.

If you need more help with MPL, PM me.

Seth
Seth
WB5ITT
Posts: 57
Joined: Thu Sep 01, 2005 8:09 am
What radios do you own?: Motorola, GE, Kenwood, Yaesu

Re: APX 8000 and MPL plus 900MHz

Post by WB5ITT »

Tnx...I set up channels for MPL and set a MPL list but the softkey never showed..may have missed something in CPS

The 8500 skips 902 to 928 programming...the 8000 shows it in the frequency range but won't take the freqs..maybe there is hack. Wanted to put a local 900 rptr in it but looks like it won't go...rats..guess I'll have to use the TK981 I bought at a ham fest..

Chris
Chris WB5ITT
Trustee, W5APX
Radio Communications Tech, TX DPS
Region 2 - Beaumont, TX
Motorola, you may find better but you'll never pay more! 😉
User avatar
Astro Spectra
Posts: 666
Joined: Sat Sep 22, 2001 4:00 pm

Re: APX 8000 and MPL plus 900MHz

Post by Astro Spectra »

The 800/900 Mototrbo radios (except the e series) work very well on the 900 MHz ham band, no hardware mods and you get DMR which is excellent at 900.

The receivers drop a tad at the low end but above about 915 you’re golden. The XPR repeaters also work really well.
WB5ITT
Posts: 57
Joined: Thu Sep 01, 2005 8:09 am
What radios do you own?: Motorola, GE, Kenwood, Yaesu

Re: APX 8000 and MPL plus 900MHz

Post by WB5ITT »

The CPS, using R27, doesn't allow 900 MHz freqs to be entered..is there a hack??
Chris
Chris WB5ITT
Trustee, W5APX
Radio Communications Tech, TX DPS
Region 2 - Beaumont, TX
Motorola, you may find better but you'll never pay more! 😉
User avatar
Astro Spectra
Posts: 666
Joined: Sat Sep 22, 2001 4:00 pm

Re: APX 8000 and MPL plus 900MHz

Post by Astro Spectra »

No hack is presently possible as the APX radio itself refuses the frequencies even when CPS is hacked to allow entry.
Post Reply

Return to “APX Series Subscribers”