Users may not create topics, posts, or private messages containing or relating to the following material (especially pertaining to Motorola copyrighted software, unless you want Motorola to come along and shut this site down):

  • Listing for sale or trade of, or links to sites offering for sale or trade of, or giving away, Radio
    Service Software (RSS) or Customer Programming Software (CPS)
  • Profanity, pornography, defamation, or slanderous remarks directed towards any individual or entity
  • Commercial advertising (except in the Batboard Vendors forum, as approved by the Admin/Mod Staff)
  • Any other items which may be deemed as offensive

If any topics, posts, or private messages containing or relating to the aforementioned material are brought to the attention of the Admin/Mod Staff, they will be deleted.

Additional FAQ items appear here in Forum Rules. Please review them for posting guidelines and further clarification.

Cap Plus radios on LCP System

The place to talk about features you want to see in your radios. In addition speculation is welcome with respect to new features or subscribers being developed. You never know!

Moderator: Queue Moderator

deg213
New User
Posts: 4
Joined: Tue Nov 11, 2014 1:51 pm

Cap Plus radios on LCP System

Postby deg213 » Fri May 17, 2019 12:27 pm

Hello,

I understand best practices indicates all radios should be upgraded to LCP for consistency, but what are the consequences of operating some radios in Cap Plus, while the repeaters are upgraded to LCP? I understand the radios will work but what issues will the users experience?

Thanks

desperado
Posts: 222
Joined: Wed Jul 15, 2009 4:29 pm
What radios do you own?: Motorola

Re: Cap Plus radios on LCP System

Postby desperado » Thu Sep 12, 2019 8:42 pm

The radios will only talk on one site and will miss any traffic that does not originate from that site.

Obviously the roaming will not work to the other LCP sites.
Troubleshooting this can be maddening. I had several radios that got missed during an upgrade and they would work mostly but were intermittent to the point the customer was unhappy. After several failed attempts to repair them a a trip to the depot it was realized that the codeplug was wrong and was corrected.

My advice, don't even consider purposely creating this mess and not upgrading all the radios.
Keith
CET USMSS
Field Tech
What more can I say


Return to “ASTRO Products Feature Requests & Future Speculation”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest