2007 Ford Expedition With Curtian Airbags

This forum is dedicated to helping people with questions about installing radio equipment in vehicles. This can include antenna installs, electrical wiring questions/problems, and mounting systems. Pictures of installs are welcome.

Note: Discussions regarding lighting, sirens, and other equipment now has its own forum in the 'off-topic' section below.

Moderator: Queue Moderator

Rod Farva
What radios do you own?: Way too many!!

2007 Ford Expedition With Curtian Airbags

Post by Rod Farva »

Anyone have any info on installing antennas on a 2007 Ford Expedition with rear climate controls and Curtian airbags? I have a lot of experience with installs but when it comes to airbags in the headliner I want to be cautious. I just bought this Expedition yesterday and I am installing 5 radios in it.. Any info would be appreciated. I just do not feel comfortable running coax infront of the airbag system plus is there anything I need to know that might be hidden inside the headliner when drilling the holes or running the feedline... Thanks.
I DON'T WANT A LARGE FARVA I WANT A GOD*&^*& LITER OF COLA!
txshooter

Re: 2007 Ford Expedition With Curtian Airbags

Post by txshooter »

Run the coax behind the airbag system. This is the only way to do it in some vehicles. It is also possible to run the cable to completely circumvent the sytem in others. Think a 2007 Expedition is bad, try a install in a 2007 Toyota RAV 4 that no one ever thought of two way radio installation. At least Expeditions are commonly used in public saftey applications.

Scott
Scott B.
"Never argue with seven men when you are carrying a six shooter..."
HLA
What radios do you own?: HT1550's, X9000's, CDM1550's

Post by HLA »

what if you kept the wires low along the rockers all the way to the back then come up the last pillar? i'm guessing you are going to put the antennaes in the center of the rear section of the roof?
HLA