MotoTRBO. You saw it here first!!!!

Moderator: Queue Moderator

User avatar
mikegilbert
Posts: 654
Joined: Thu Nov 14, 2002 12:08 am
What radios do you own?: All of them

MotoTRBO. You saw it here first!!!!

Post by mikegilbert »

Hey batlabs.

I spent last night fooling around with my new Motorola XPR4550. Here are some screen (display) shots for you guys to feast on.

Oh, and here's a short video I made today: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=En8-lRhDoro

I did a dry fit in my car- the radio is DIN size, so I'd imagine there's a nice bracket available.


Enjoy.

-Mike


RSSI Display!!!
Image

Menu Structure
Image

Hopefully this isn't developmental FW
Image

TXT LOL hehe.
Image

Awesome!
Image

Size Comparison
Image
flickr | mikegilbertphotography.com
escomm wrote:Awesomesauce
User avatar
escomm
Queue Moderator
Posts: 5168
Joined: Fri Mar 24, 2006 8:24 pm

Post by escomm »

saw what here first, programmed radios? we've known about trbo (and even seen the demos that fell off the truck) for months ;p
User avatar
mikegilbert
Posts: 654
Joined: Thu Nov 14, 2002 12:08 am
What radios do you own?: All of them

Post by mikegilbert »

No $h#t escomm- I must have been hiding under a rock or something.

We've all known about it, you are correct.

This is just to give the other 95% of batlabs (non MSS employees/IWCE attendees) a chance to see it working.

Anyway, please enjoy- I guess I'm easily entertained.

-Mike
Last edited by mikegilbert on Thu Feb 08, 2007 5:04 pm, edited 1 time in total.
dxon2m
Posts: 943
Joined: Thu Mar 11, 2004 8:00 pm

Post by dxon2m »

SEXY stuff. I suppose the TMS on the motoTRBO is the same as the TMS on XTS5000?

Thanks for posting mike
User avatar
mikegilbert
Posts: 654
Joined: Thu Nov 14, 2002 12:08 am
What radios do you own?: All of them

Post by mikegilbert »

I haven't played with the TMS on the TRBO just yet, but it looks more streamlined than the Astro TMS. They're both awesome though.
User avatar
wavetar
Administrator
Posts: 7339
Joined: Sun Sep 09, 2001 4:00 pm

Post by wavetar »

The TMS is pretty much the same as the DTR series, if you've played with them.

Hmmph...our demos, as well as the CPS & cables, aren't available to us here in Canada until sometime in March :x Placed the orders though!
No trees were harmed in the posting of this message...however an extraordinarily large number of electrons were horribly inconvenienced.

Welcome to the /\/\achine.
User avatar
mikegilbert
Posts: 654
Joined: Thu Nov 14, 2002 12:08 am
What radios do you own?: All of them

Post by mikegilbert »

I'm hoping this will work with the regular CPS- it doesn't even have a motorola P/N sticker.

Does it take the XTL/PM programming cable?

-Mike
RFguy
Posts: 1357
Joined: Wed Dec 21, 2005 6:17 am

Post by RFguy »

I'm hoping this will work with the regular CPS- it doesn't even have a motorola P/N sticker.

Does it take the XTL/PM programming cable?

-Mike
Dreamer
User avatar
mikegilbert
Posts: 654
Joined: Thu Nov 14, 2002 12:08 am
What radios do you own?: All of them

Post by mikegilbert »

HAHA.

I'm being optimistic 8)
User avatar
Johnny Galaga
Posts: 280
Joined: Mon Aug 19, 2002 11:51 pm

Post by Johnny Galaga »

How hard will it be to get the software and programming equipment ?
Analog already is interoperable.

Image
scanner_freak
Posts: 8
Joined: Mon Feb 02, 2004 7:18 pm

Post by scanner_freak »

sweet pic/vid. Im jelous :P Thanks for sharing 8)
User avatar
escomm
Queue Moderator
Posts: 5168
Joined: Fri Mar 24, 2006 8:24 pm

Post by escomm »

Johnny Galaga wrote:How hard will it be to get the software and programming equipment ?
No harder than any other piece of software. The client that tracks the GPS movements goes for about $1100
tvsjr
Posts: 4118
Joined: Fri Nov 28, 2003 9:46 am

Post by tvsjr »

If it wasn't for that ghey-ass commentary in the background... :lol:

Is that a real radio, or an ABC123?
User avatar
mikegilbert
Posts: 654
Joined: Thu Nov 14, 2002 12:08 am
What radios do you own?: All of them

Post by mikegilbert »

tvsjr wrote:If it wasn't for that ghey-ass commentary in the background... :lol:

Is that a real radio, or an ABC123?
It's not an ABC123...it's a 0000AAA hahaha.

Model No: M27QPH9LA1AN
Flashcode: 500008-000488-2

Seriously!

The only marking is the motorola label. Doesn't even say XPR!
MattSR
Posts: 770
Joined: Mon Apr 21, 2003 10:00 pm

Post by MattSR »

I wonder when 4F1E codeplugs will appear lol
dxon2m
Posts: 943
Joined: Thu Mar 11, 2004 8:00 pm

Post by dxon2m »

mikegilbert wrote: Model No: M27QPH9LA1AN
Flashcode: 500008-000488-2
IMBE + SZ + ID Display...mmmmmmm :lol:
User avatar
wavetar
Administrator
Posts: 7339
Joined: Sun Sep 09, 2001 4:00 pm

Post by wavetar »

mikegilbert wrote:I'm hoping this will work with the regular CPS- it doesn't even have a motorola P/N sticker.

Does it take the XTL/PM programming cable?

-Mike
What do you mean by "regular CPS"?? I assumed you had it since you posted the pics. The TRBO CPS is part# RVN5115. The cable part numbers are:

Portable programming/service cable – PMKN4013

Portable programming cable – PMKN4012

Mobile front programming cable – HKN6184

Repeater/mobile rear programming/service cable – PMKN4016
No trees were harmed in the posting of this message...however an extraordinarily large number of electrons were horribly inconvenienced.

Welcome to the /\/\achine.
User avatar
60A
Posts: 129
Joined: Fri Jan 06, 2006 11:04 am
What radios do you own?: XTS5000, XPR7550, XPR4550

Post by 60A »

I have to say, I'm pretty excited. My work is getting some demo units as soon as our local dealer gets them in! :) Thanks for the video *drool*
User avatar
mikegilbert
Posts: 654
Joined: Thu Nov 14, 2002 12:08 am
What radios do you own?: All of them

Post by mikegilbert »

wavetar wrote:What do you mean by "regular CPS"?? I assumed you had it since you posted the pics...
Well this is a developmental radio so i don't know if the regular CPS will even talk to it.

I used the test frequencies that were already loaded in the radio for the RX check.

Thanks for the part #'s. I'll be ordering the cable shortly.
lenny kravitz
Posts: 6
Joined: Wed Jun 11, 2003 1:52 pm

More Pictures

Post by lenny kravitz »

Here are anothers pictures.
Image
Image
Image[/img]
User avatar
60A
Posts: 129
Joined: Fri Jan 06, 2006 11:04 am
What radios do you own?: XTS5000, XPR7550, XPR4550

Post by 60A »

that is a giant microphone, yikes!
Rayjk110
Banned
Posts: 1183
Joined: Thu Jan 06, 2005 4:10 pm

Post by Rayjk110 »

Cool!

Looks like the standard full-feature XTL palm mic.
User avatar
60A
Posts: 129
Joined: Fri Jan 06, 2006 11:04 am
What radios do you own?: XTS5000, XPR7550, XPR4550

Post by 60A »

Our dealer just got their demos in, and we were first on their list to try them out. I have to say I am pretty impressed. We have them programed for or analog repeater... and they sound clearer then our current ht-1250's. We also have them on a digital simplex channel and the range is pretty excellent. Yay moto!
User avatar
wavetar
Administrator
Posts: 7339
Joined: Sun Sep 09, 2001 4:00 pm

Post by wavetar »

Anyone else run into this little 'bug' with the CPS?

I found that the factory programmed digital personality of course works. Now, try deleting the factory analog personality, and manually creating a second, third, fourth, etc, digital channel. By "manually", I mean right-click "Zone 1", and choose "new", "digital channel". It will put them in there...but they will NOT work...you just get an error tone when you attempt to transmit. Doesn't matter if you set it as a repeater channel, or a simplex channel. Also doesn't' matter which "repeater slot" you set it for. This happened with both of my demo portables, and the demo mobile.

I had to erase all but the factory digital personality, then highlight the personality, right-click it, and choose "copy". Then highlight "Zone 1", right-click it, and choose "paste". It will add it as the next channel, and it will then work!

This was with the latest "B" version of the CPS.

What a pain in the @ss...especially when I was trying to program the buggers the night before they were to be showcased at a convention.

Todd
No trees were harmed in the posting of this message...however an extraordinarily large number of electrons were horribly inconvenienced.

Welcome to the /\/\achine.
User avatar
Johnny Galaga
Posts: 280
Joined: Mon Aug 19, 2002 11:51 pm

Post by Johnny Galaga »

I've read other threads on here that it's really hard to get Motorola to sell you the CPS. Is that still true with these new radios?

Does CPS use the same old RIB box as RSS, or is there some other way you're supposed to hook it up to the computer?
Analog already is interoperable.

Image
User avatar
wavetar
Administrator
Posts: 7339
Joined: Sun Sep 09, 2001 4:00 pm

Post by wavetar »

Johnny Galaga wrote:I've read other threads on here that it's really hard to get Motorola to sell you the CPS. Is that still true with these new radios?
The only CPS that people have trouble getting are the Professional Series (HT/CDM), Entry Level Professional Series (CT250/450), and Professional Trunked Series (MTX850/8250, etc) which for whatever reason have their own specific license agreement.

All other CPS/RSS falls under the "general" license agreement that anybody can sign, pay for & obtain.

That said, I don't know which one will apply to the TRBO radios...it's too new to be on the RSS spreadsheet on MOL.
Johnny Galaga wrote: Does CPS use the same old RIB box as RSS, or is there some other way you're supposed to hook it up to the computer?
All TRBO cables are USB based...no serial cables at all (so far, at least).

Todd
No trees were harmed in the posting of this message...however an extraordinarily large number of electrons were horribly inconvenienced.

Welcome to the /\/\achine.
User avatar
nmfire10
Batboard $upporter
Posts: 4109
Joined: Sat Jun 29, 2002 4:41 pm

Post by nmfire10 »

So what are these things designed and intended for? Buisness? Public safety?
"I'll eat you like a plate of bacon and eggs in the morning. "
- Some loser on rr.com

eBay at it's finest:
Me: "What exactly is a 900Mhz UHF CB?"
Them: "A very nice CB at 900Mhz speed!"

:-?
User avatar
escomm
Queue Moderator
Posts: 5168
Joined: Fri Mar 24, 2006 8:24 pm

Post by escomm »

Business yes... for public safety Motorola would much rather sell you a Quantar and some XTS/XTL radios.... 8)
Rayjk110
Banned
Posts: 1183
Joined: Thu Jan 06, 2005 4:10 pm

Post by Rayjk110 »

Any idea what MSRP pricing on this stuff is? I would expect portables to be between $400-500, but that's just a rough guess. . .
User avatar
escomm
Queue Moderator
Posts: 5168
Joined: Fri Mar 24, 2006 8:24 pm

Post by escomm »

more like $900-1100 for the portables and $800-1000 for the mobiles
User avatar
wavetar
Administrator
Posts: 7339
Joined: Sun Sep 09, 2001 4:00 pm

Post by wavetar »

nmfire10 wrote:So what are these things designed and intended for? Buisness? Public safety?
According to the matrix I saw at the Motorola road show in November, they envision these radios to be sort of "upper middle class" in their portfolio. They recommend them for certain types of public safety, such as small to mid-sized municipal police & fire fleets no problem. The physical build quality surpasses the HT/CDM & Commercial series stuff (IP57 & all that), so I'd have to agree. It fills in a large gap between their current platforms & the "Homeland Security" level of the Astro stuff.

I'm going to make this thread a sticky until the info can get moved to the knowledge base...so far it contains pictures, part numbers, CPS bug work arounds, etc.

Todd
No trees were harmed in the posting of this message...however an extraordinarily large number of electrons were horribly inconvenienced.

Welcome to the /\/\achine.
User avatar
RESCUE161
Batboard $upporter
Posts: 2062
Joined: Wed Jan 16, 2002 4:00 pm
What radios do you own?: Too many!

Post by RESCUE161 »

I guess plain old P25 IMBE is out for these things? <---- Just a guess...
Scott
KE4FHH
Religion: Kills folks dead!
User avatar
escomm
Queue Moderator
Posts: 5168
Joined: Fri Mar 24, 2006 8:24 pm

Post by escomm »

RESCUE161 wrote:I guess plain old P25 IMBE is out for these things? <---- Just a guess...
Correct, they use TDMA
User avatar
HumHead
Moderator
Posts: 1767
Joined: Tue Sep 25, 2001 4:00 pm

Post by HumHead »

...and the AMBE vocoder.

It uses the ETSI-TS102 361-1 protocol. It is an open standard, but not even remotely compatible with P25 Phase I.
Grog
On Moderation
Posts: 783
Joined: Sat Nov 17, 2001 4:00 pm

Post by Grog »

Rayjk110 wrote:Any idea what MSRP pricing on this stuff is? I would expect portables to be between $400-500, but that's just a rough guess. . .
:lol: :lol: :lol:

That was a good one.....
User avatar
mr.syntrx
Posts: 1587
Joined: Wed Apr 28, 2004 10:09 pm

Post by mr.syntrx »

wavetar wrote:
nmfire10 wrote:So what are these things designed and intended for? Buisness? Public safety?
According to the matrix I saw at the Motorola road show in November, they envision these radios to be sort of "upper middle class" in their portfolio. They recommend them for certain types of public safety, such as small to mid-sized municipal police & fire fleets no problem. The physical build quality surpasses the HT/CDM & Commercial series stuff (IP57 & all that), so I'd have to agree. It fills in a large gap between their current platforms & the "Homeland Security" level of the Astro stuff.

I'm going to make this thread a sticky until the info can get moved to the knowledge base...so far it contains pictures, part numbers, CPS bug work arounds, etc.

Todd
So at the same sort of market tier where you'd find the MT2000 etc in the ASTRO Saber days?
User avatar
mr.syntrx
Posts: 1587
Joined: Wed Apr 28, 2004 10:09 pm

Post by mr.syntrx »

HumHead wrote:...and the AMBE vocoder.

It uses the ETSI-TS102 361-1 protocol. It is an open standard, but not even remotely compatible with P25 Phase I.
Yep. Different modulation scheme, different vocoder, different framing, different access method, etc.
User avatar
HumHead
Moderator
Posts: 1767
Joined: Tue Sep 25, 2001 4:00 pm

Post by HumHead »

According to the engineer that I spoke with from /\/\, they are positioning these to be the evolution / replacement for the Professional Series radios, once they are ultimately discontinued.

If I were a betting man, I would guess that we will see the pricing on the two series getting closer and closer as discontinuation of the Professional Series approaches, several years down the line.
User avatar
mikegilbert
Posts: 654
Joined: Thu Nov 14, 2002 12:08 am
What radios do you own?: All of them

Post by mikegilbert »

escomm wrote:more like $900-1100 for the portables and $800-1000 for the mobiles
Are you sure?

See, I only paid $60 for mine 8)
flickr | mikegilbertphotography.com
escomm wrote:Awesomesauce
User avatar
escomm
Queue Moderator
Posts: 5168
Joined: Fri Mar 24, 2006 8:24 pm

Post by escomm »

I got mine for free and I can send mine to the depot for service and will actually get it back.... :lol:
Grog
On Moderation
Posts: 783
Joined: Sat Nov 17, 2001 4:00 pm

Post by Grog »

escomm wrote:I got mine for free and I can send mine to the depot for service and will actually get it back.... :lol:
Well, it's a modern /\/\, so it'll probably be needing a depot trip soon anyway :lol: :lol: :lol:
User avatar
escomm
Queue Moderator
Posts: 5168
Joined: Fri Mar 24, 2006 8:24 pm

Post by escomm »

I think it needs to go already... it doesn't do DTMF! Jk, I don't think it's capable of doing DTMF

FYI, the repeater cannot run in mixed mode, it's either analog or digital and is controllable only by the CPS... though I suppose you could put up two repeaters on the same pair and have one run digital and one run analog.
User avatar
mr.syntrx
Posts: 1587
Joined: Wed Apr 28, 2004 10:09 pm

Post by mr.syntrx »

The fact that mixed mode is possible on ASTRO base stations doesn't make it a good idea anyway, except maybe on the hammy bands.
User avatar
escomm
Queue Moderator
Posts: 5168
Joined: Fri Mar 24, 2006 8:24 pm

Post by escomm »

mr.syntrx wrote:The fact that mixed mode is possible on ASTRO base stations doesn't make it a good idea anyway, except maybe on the hammy bands.
Yes, but there is about a 1/2 to 3/4 second delay from the time you talk on digital and the time it comes out on everyone else's radio, and sometimes you just have to have realtime comms. So flipping to analog would be nice and convenient for times like that.
User avatar
mr.syntrx
Posts: 1587
Joined: Wed Apr 28, 2004 10:09 pm

Post by mr.syntrx »

Most digital radios have that DSP lag in analog and digital modes anyway, military gear especially.

Check out the lag in FM on an MBITR sometime.
Last edited by mr.syntrx on Sat Mar 17, 2007 8:28 pm, edited 1 time in total.
User avatar
escomm
Queue Moderator
Posts: 5168
Joined: Fri Mar 24, 2006 8:24 pm

Post by escomm »

Thus the need to be able to easily switch to analog for true real time comms 8)
User avatar
Josh
Posts: 1926
Joined: Mon Sep 03, 2001 4:00 pm
What radios do you own?: ASpectra+, XTS2.5K, Kenwood NX

Post by Josh »

Yeah, use an MT500 or HT1250, or other radios with no DSP to clean up the analog audio.

-Josh
User avatar
wavetar
Administrator
Posts: 7339
Joined: Sun Sep 09, 2001 4:00 pm

Post by wavetar »

Here's the mobile accessory connector info:



Image



Image
No trees were harmed in the posting of this message...however an extraordinarily large number of electrons were horribly inconvenienced.

Welcome to the /\/\achine.
User avatar
Victor Xray
Posts: 845
Joined: Mon Dec 17, 2001 4:00 pm

Post by Victor Xray »

OK Todd, you're nominated to put together the Knowledge Base article for these radios!
giardinop
Posts: 16
Joined: Fri Jan 06, 2006 6:03 pm
What radios do you own?: (2)HT 1250, EX 500, EX600 XLS

Post by giardinop »

What are the prospects for the "S" bandsplit?

Can you mix TDMA and conventional channels in a Zone?

I like what these radios offer but our EX600s and CDM1250s give us a lot of interoperability (between other Gov'ts on UHF). The "R" bandsplit does not cover enough for us.
Communicating on......all /\/\ equipment
Post Reply

Return to “MotoTRBO Portables and Mobiles (4xxx/6xxx) 1.0 Series Subscribers”