Users may not create topics, posts, or private messages containing or relating to the following material (especially pertaining to Motorola copyrighted software, unless you want Motorola to come along and shut this site down):

  • Listing for sale or trade of, or links to sites offering for sale or trade of, or giving away, Radio
    Service Software (RSS) or Customer Programming Software (CPS)
  • Profanity, pornography, defamation, or slanderous remarks directed towards any individual or entity
  • Commercial advertising (except in the Batboard Vendors forum, as approved by the Admin/Mod Staff)
  • Any other items which may be deemed as offensive

If any topics, posts, or private messages containing or relating to the aforementioned material are brought to the attention of the Admin/Mod Staff, they will be deleted.

Additional FAQ items appear here in Forum Rules. Please review them for posting guidelines and further clarification.

Motorola Saber Question

This forum is for discussions regarding all aspects of Motorola radio programming, including hardware, computers, installation and use of RSS/CPS, firmware upgrades, and troubleshooting. There are subforums for discussions of codeplugs, and also for software/firmware release notes and issues.

Moderator: Queue Moderator

williamray507
Posts: 51
Joined: Mon May 02, 2005 6:12 am

Motorola Saber Question

Postby williamray507 » Mon Dec 24, 2012 12:52 pm

Hello all, I have several Motorola Saber radios and can program them with out issue but I have recently got two Saber 3's that when you read/program them you have to press Menu, Select and Enter on the radio, they program and read fine but I have never see then this and was wondering if there was a way to not have to do that when you program them?

Edit: Forgot the Model number
H33QXK7139AN for both.
K3AVN
WQRG512

User avatar
Tom in D.C.
Posts: 3859
Joined: Tue Sep 04, 2001 4:00 pm
What radios do you own?: Progreso soup can with CRT

Re: Motorola Saber Question

Postby Tom in D.C. » Mon Dec 24, 2012 5:13 pm

That "AN" is something i've never seen on a Saber 3. It means that the radio is not capable of scanning, and was seen on very, very early Sabers. I've seen it only a few Saber 1 units. As to the three-button requirement I've never seen that, either.
Tom in D.C.
In 1920, the U.S. Post Office Department ruled
that children may not be sent by parcel post.

GlennD
Posts: 482
Joined: Tue Jun 15, 2004 8:00 am

Re: Motorola Saber Question

Postby GlennD » Tue Dec 25, 2012 10:18 am

We had quite a few type 2 Sabers that way. Most were 2K. If a user required scan we replaced the front shield.

All of our Saber stuff has long gone to salvage.

Will
Posts: 6823
Joined: Tue Sep 04, 2001 4:00 pm

Re: Motorola Saber Question

Postby Will » Tue Dec 25, 2012 2:24 pm

GlennD wrote:All of our Saber stuff has long gone to salvage.


But, I managed to get one VHF Saber out of the salvage.

User avatar
FireCpt809
Posts: 1821
Joined: Sat Jan 19, 2002 4:00 pm
What radios do you own?: Alot..

Re: Motorola Saber Question

Postby FireCpt809 » Tue Dec 25, 2012 3:23 pm

Alot of Glenn's Sabers were all over Ebay for a long time.. I think I even had a few..Some might have been hand me downs from WHCA too as they had engraved tags glued over the engraved WHCA engraving on the front.

KG4INW
Posts: 269
Joined: Thu May 22, 2008 3:31 pm
What radios do you own?: Not enough apparently!

Re: Motorola Saber Question

Postby KG4INW » Tue Dec 25, 2012 5:02 pm

OT but I got one too! Still has a yellow tag and some "LBFD" engravings.

Back on topic, you must have some really early units. Is the keypad "sunken", for lack of a better term? That is, is it noticeably different looking from more common keypads? Those early models certainly looked different.

williamray507
Posts: 51
Joined: Mon May 02, 2005 6:12 am

Re: Motorola Saber Question

Postby williamray507 » Tue Dec 25, 2012 7:10 pm

They look like the others I have, here is a quick pic I just took.

Image
K3AVN
WQRG512

KG4INW
Posts: 269
Joined: Thu May 22, 2008 3:31 pm
What radios do you own?: Not enough apparently!

Re: Motorola Saber Question

Postby KG4INW » Wed Dec 26, 2012 8:19 am

Well, I guess it could have been re-housed but the old cases were slightly different. I'll have to try to find a picture.

DJP126
Posts: 865
Joined: Wed Jun 18, 2003 6:41 am
What radios do you own?: What's a radio?

Re: Motorola Saber Question

Postby DJP126 » Thu Dec 27, 2012 7:54 am

Pressing the three buttons was the original way to put a Saber into programming/service mode. The model # ending in "AN" shows that it is the first generation radio. Major changes in models would change the suffix to "BN", "CN", etc. I don't remember if you had to replace the processor to get rid of the "programming mode" or if a keypad change would take care of it.
Dave

uman18
Posts: 216
Joined: Wed Dec 17, 2003 10:09 am
What radios do you own?: XTS5000 VHF, XTL5000 UHF/VHF

Re: Motorola Saber Question

Postby uman18 » Fri Dec 28, 2012 12:32 am

I had about 600 of them form LBC UHF&VHF that I sold here, ebay and also at the TRW swap in LA in 2008-2009. I have a box still of mostly VHF. Maybe 1 WHCA and several w/ LBCF tags. I have 2 that I use for scanners in VHF till this date. Also had about 300 from Burbank, CA PD/fire but those had holes drilled in the back. I used most of those for parts as just the PC board and the synthesizers got drilled. The fronts where intact and converted several model 1's = model 2's. I parted out a good amount of the other sabers for electronic gold recovery.

GlennD
Posts: 482
Joined: Tue Jun 15, 2004 8:00 am

Re: Motorola Saber Question

Postby GlennD » Fri Dec 28, 2012 1:52 pm

Since we narrowbanded PD and changed to DPL hundreds of UHF Sabers are surfacing. If we had not changed to DPL the officers would continue to use them FCC be damned.

Many officers liked the Sabers better. I will admit the audio in our analog mode sounds better.

SlimBob
Posts: 911
Joined: Thu Dec 18, 2003 11:38 am
What radios do you own?: I sold my soul for a Saber.

Re: Motorola Saber Question

Postby SlimBob » Sat Feb 09, 2013 1:14 pm

Does anyone have a part number for the plastic collar that goes on the switch/pot shaft and adapts to the rubber knob? I broke a pair.
Slippery Sal's Saber Shanty! Sorted Simply, stuck in sacks! Standard, SECURENET, and Submersible! Sold in sets of six and seven!

uman18
Posts: 216
Joined: Wed Dec 17, 2003 10:09 am
What radios do you own?: XTS5000 VHF, XTL5000 UHF/VHF

Re: Motorola Saber Question

Postby uman18 » Sat Feb 09, 2013 5:54 pm

SlimBob wrote:Does anyone have a part number for the plastic collar that goes on the switch/pot shaft and adapts to the rubber knob? I broke a pair.


post or send me a pic, i have hundreds or parts in a box.


Return to “Radio Programming”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests