PM1500 change to XTL

Moderator: Queue Moderator

Post Reply
User avatar
BigTex1136
Posts: 509
Joined: Sat Nov 08, 2003 4:45 am
What radios do you own?: Way more then I can list here

PM1500 change to XTL

Post by BigTex1136 »

I want to upgrade my PM1500 to an XTL2500 or 5000. My question is can it become an XTL2500 only or can I make it a 5000? Thanks
ImageImage
GOT MODAT?
User avatar
spectragod
Posts: 2020
Joined: Sun Dec 30, 2001 4:00 pm
What radios do you own?: FPP 6 meter XTL 5K's

Re: PM1500 change to XTL

Post by spectragod »

How would one go about doing this????
Kilgore: Smell that? You smell that?
Lance: What?
Kilgore: Napalm, son. Nothing in the world smells like that.
Kilgore: I love the smell of napalm in the morning. You know, one time we had a hill bombed, for 12 hours. When it was all over, I walked up. We didn't find one of 'em, not one stinkin' dink body. The smell, you know that gasoline smell, the whole hill. Smelled like... victory. Someday this war's gonna end...

____________
Revelation 6:8
KC2OBW
New User
Posts: 1
Joined: Sat Aug 28, 2010 8:35 am

Re: PM1500 change to XTL

Post by KC2OBW »

BigTex1136 wrote:I want to upgrade my PM1500 to an XTL2500 or 5000. My question is can it become an XTL2500 only or can I make it a 5000? Thanks

You can make it a 5000, just need the right software, and the correct control head.
spectragod wrote:How would one go about doing this????
You would a certain software thats not supposed to exist outside of Motorola.
User avatar
spectragod
Posts: 2020
Joined: Sun Dec 30, 2001 4:00 pm
What radios do you own?: FPP 6 meter XTL 5K's

Re: PM1500 change to XTL

Post by spectragod »

KC2OBW wrote:
spectragod wrote:How would one go about doing this????
You would a certain software thats not supposed to exist outside of Motorola.
Hmmmmmm, no kidding?
Kilgore: Smell that? You smell that?
Lance: What?
Kilgore: Napalm, son. Nothing in the world smells like that.
Kilgore: I love the smell of napalm in the morning. You know, one time we had a hill bombed, for 12 hours. When it was all over, I walked up. We didn't find one of 'em, not one stinkin' dink body. The smell, you know that gasoline smell, the whole hill. Smelled like... victory. Someday this war's gonna end...

____________
Revelation 6:8
User avatar
d119
Posts: 3504
Joined: Tue Mar 19, 2002 4:00 pm

Re: PM1500 change to XTL

Post by d119 »

Image
motorola_otaku
Posts: 1854
Joined: Tue Jan 13, 2004 7:03 am

Re: PM1500 change to XTL

Post by motorola_otaku »

OK. Here is the least snarky answer you are likely to get on this question: don't ask.

Astro25 is a relatively recent product line. You can still get support for it. Posting questions in an open forum regarding hacking/cracking/using Depot tools is probably not the wisest decision, given recent events with other radio forums. Old s*** like Spectras and Sabers... ehh maybe, but definitely not a near-current product line.
User avatar
jackhackett
Posts: 1480
Joined: Tue Jun 10, 2003 8:52 am

Re: PM1500 change to XTL

Post by jackhackett »

Here's a step by step description of how to do it easily and with no legal repercussions.

1) Sell PM1500
2) Buy XTL2500/5000
3) ???
4) Profit! (well, maybe not for you, but for somebody)
Post Reply

Return to “ASTRO25 Series (XTS/XTL 1500/2500/5000) Subscribers”