Hide-A-Way's or TIR3's?

Discussions regarding lighting, sirens, and other PS/Emergency response equipment can be had within this forum.

Discussions regarding legalities of lights, usages, and different state laws and regulations regarding warning equipment are not permitted.
See the announcement inside the forum for more details.

Moderator: Queue Moderator

firefighter27

Hide-A-Way's or TIR3's?

Post by firefighter27 »

Hi. I am getting a '97 lexus ES 300 shortly, and have a hard decision to make. I am a volunteer firefighter, so I will be installing blue lights in the lexus. My problem is I want something that is as close to completely invisible as possible, provides great warning power, is easy to install (i have never installed any emergency lighting myself before, and i want to do it myself), and can fit a budget of around $250 max. My two main choices are:

1.) Two(2) Whelen TIR3's (both blue), grille mounting brackets, and a switch. The TIR3's would go in my grille.

2.) A (probably whelen) hide-a-way strobe kit with 4 tubes which all have to be blue (tubes, wires, power supply, switch, etc...)

My main question is which one of these options is better for my need? Pros and cons of each? Any other ideas? Thanks for your help!!!
alex
Administrator

Post by alex »

I honestly wouldn't bother with colored tubes... they hardly give off what their color is really supposed to be, and they usually degrade the performance of the strobes themselves.

Have you looked in to how hard running strobe cable throughout your vehicle might be? Foreign cars are a pain in the ass. Do you have enough clearance for the strobe tupe and heat disapation from the strobe firing? Melting of the lenses in there might be a serious concern.

Not trying to burst your strobe bubble, however, I don't want to see you damage your lenses on your car....

-Alex
The Radio Information Board: http://www.radioinfoboard.com