APX7000 Mode Selector Knobs

The General forum is where users can discuss any topic regarding Motorola communications equipment - hardware, software, etc. There are also several focused forums on this board, so please take the time to ensure that your questions doesn't fall into one of those categories before posting here!

Moderator: Queue Moderator

APX7000 Mode Selector Knobs

Postby Ken.Adams » Thu Mar 15, 2012 11:41 am

I've found the mode selector knob on the APX7000 to be annoyingly small. Is there any known source for the larger knobs that appeared on the early-production radios? Do the selector or volume knobs for any of the other APX radios (like the APX7000XE) fit on the APX7000?
Ken.Adams
 
Posts: 11
Joined: Tue Apr 06, 2010 2:23 pm

Re: APX7000 Mode Selector Knobs

Postby n3obl » Fri Mar 16, 2012 9:31 am

I believe they are NLA. Also on a side note my knob is stiff. I heard you can pull it off and reseat it. Do I need a special tool for that.
n3obl
 
Posts: 577
Joined: Tue Mar 26, 2002 4:00 pm
Location: Pa

Re: APX7000 Mode Selector Knobs

Postby Ken.Adams » Fri Mar 16, 2012 11:14 am

n3obl wrote:Also on a side note my knob is stiff.

I think you are supposed to call your doctor if it persists for more than four hours. :lol:

Seriously though... the Basic Service Manual states:

To remove knobs: Firmly hold the radio in one hand and use a pair of pliers to grip the knob.

NOTE: The knobs are designed to be difficult to remove, however, it will come off. If the metal D clip sticks to the knob post, remove the D clip prior to putting on the new knob.


I'm not sure if it's possible to pull them off using pliers without marring them - I think Moto's process assumes you are going to replace it with a new knob.
Ken.Adams
 
Posts: 11
Joined: Tue Apr 06, 2010 2:23 pm

Re: APX7000 Mode Selector Knobs

Postby batdude » Sat Mar 17, 2012 7:00 am

n3obl wrote:I believe they are NLA.



yeah, i bought all that was left in stock.

:-)
BRAVO MIKE JULIET ALPHA
"You can do whatever you want, there are just consequences..."
IF SOMEONE PM'S YOU - HAVE THE COURTESY TO REPLY.
User avatar
batdude
Personal aide to Mr. Cook
 
Posts: 2711
Joined: Thu Oct 04, 2001 4:00 pm

Re: APX7000 Mode Selector Knobs

Postby n3obl » Sat Mar 17, 2012 7:29 am

I used a towel between the pilers and knob and pulled it off.

Frank
n3obl
 
Posts: 577
Joined: Tue Mar 26, 2002 4:00 pm
Location: Pa

Re: APX7000 Mode Selector Knobs

Postby 2wayfreq » Mon Mar 19, 2012 12:26 pm

Is there two versions of the selector knob? I see APX's on one pic with one sizable solid selector knob and then another pic has what looks like a "Two-Piece" type knob where the top half rotates independent of the bottom. I hope we don't get the two piece because that will be the first thing that gets broken off of the radio.
Radio Tech Troubleshooting Golden Rule #1: Check your connections
User avatar
2wayfreq
Batboard $upporter
 
Posts: 340
Joined: Sun Dec 09, 2001 4:00 pm
Location: Roanoke,VA
What radios do you own?: XTS5000 UHF L (DES-XL OFB)

Re: APX7000 Mode Selector Knobs

Postby loband » Wed Apr 25, 2012 8:44 am

We would have liked the large original knob also....I think....All ours are the latest version - the small one.
I tried to buy them from MOL but was too late. I talked with engineering and was told the reason for the change to the small knob is to prevent from accidently changing the channel by rubbing or bumping against something. I have to agree as our Nextel R765's the top channel knob is constanly bumped and inadvertantly changed. The small knob makes for a harder effort to rotate thus harder to bump the channel. Plus it provides a tactile feel as you can tell the difference between the large easy to turn volume and the harder to turn channel knobs without looking at the radio on your belt. The Liberty's that we also use, have a large channel knob that is easy to change and a small volume knob....
loband
 
Posts: 98
Joined: Fri Nov 25, 2005 7:29 pm
Location: Northeast
What radios do you own?: APX7000R, APX7500, XTL5000

Re: APX7000 Mode Selector Knobs

Postby resqguy911 » Wed Apr 25, 2012 4:51 pm

loband wrote:We would have liked the large original knob also....I think....All ours are the latest version - the small one.
I tried to buy them from MOL but was too late. I talked with engineering and was told the reason for the change to the small knob is to prevent from accidently changing the channel by rubbing or bumping against something. I have to agree as our Nextel R765's the top channel knob is constanly bumped and inadvertantly changed. The small knob makes for a harder effort to rotate thus harder to bump the channel. Plus it provides a tactile feel as you can tell the difference between the large easy to turn volume and the harder to turn channel knobs without looking at the radio on your belt. The Liberty's that we also use, have a large channel knob that is easy to change and a small volume knob....


Yeah well.... personally I feel the problem is more with the volume knob on the 6/7K. You can actually turn the radio all the way down to OFF just by brushing up against something! I'd much rather be on the wrong channel than turned completely off.
"TDMA = digital and same great taste, half the bits"
resqguy911
 
Posts: 541
Joined: Sat Jun 26, 2004 3:35 pm

Re: APX7000 Mode Selector Knobs

Postby willbird287 » Fri Apr 27, 2012 6:45 pm

resqguy911 wrote:
Yeah well.... personally I feel the problem is more with the volume knob on the 6/7K. You can actually turn the radio all the way down to OFF just by brushing up against something! I'd much rather be on the wrong channel than turned completely off.


I always use the "soft power off" feature to avoid this problem. It's also handy with radios that require a password to power on, if you accidentally turn the volume too low and blip it off you don't have to re-enter the password.

--Will
User avatar
willbird287
 
Posts: 379
Joined: Tue Mar 30, 2004 3:21 pm
Location: Westchester NY / Pittsburgh PA
What radios do you own?: Always looking for the best...

Re: APX7000 Mode Selector Knobs

Postby resqguy911 » Tue May 01, 2012 5:27 pm

willbird287 wrote:
resqguy911 wrote:
Yeah well.... personally I feel the problem is more with the volume knob on the 6/7K. You can actually turn the radio all the way down to OFF just by brushing up against something! I'd much rather be on the wrong channel than turned completely off.


I always use the "soft power off" feature to avoid this problem. It's also handy with radios that require a password to power on, if you accidentally turn the volume too low and blip it off you don't have to re-enter the password.

--Will


I like that feature for myself, but it would undoubtedly result in many a dead radio in my city. Too much retraining.
"TDMA = digital and same great taste, half the bits"
resqguy911
 
Posts: 541
Joined: Sat Jun 26, 2004 3:35 pm


Return to General Motorola Radio Discussion

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot], Google [Bot] and 15 guests