IFR-1100S Not Working - Worth the trouble to fix?

This forum exists for the purposes for discussing service monitors (This includes but is not limited to Motorola, HP, Aeroflex, GD, etc). Additional topics allowed include test procedures, interpretation of test results, where to find information about specific tests, antenna VSWR, return loss testing, duplexer and filter alignment, etc.

Moderator: Queue Moderator

firemedic

IFR-1100S Not Working - Worth the trouble to fix?

Post by firemedic »

Well, I've been moving it around my basement/shop for 4 years now. I have an older mil surplus IFR-1100S that dosen't work. I have the military manuals for it for service and operations, it does not work properly and I haven't had the chance to test it any further. Is it worth the time/effort to troubleshoot it and get it running? I have 4 service monitors already (Motorola and HP units) and don't really need this one but if it's not too much trouble I thought it would be a good learning experience. I've worked on the motorola and hp service monitors before but never on the IFR stuff. Didn't know how different they were and if parts were NLA for em. Thanks for any suggestions or tips. Also like everything for the right price if someone else wants a project monitor I might let this one go as time seems to be my premium right now.
Keith Dobbins N8KLD
IT Mainframe Network Engineer
W8TAP Repeater Group
Repeater Technician
Parkersburg, WV
Wowbagger
Aeroflex

Re: IFR-1100S Not Working - Worth the trouble to fix?

Post by Wowbagger »

If you are wanting to get a good service monitor out of it - you can buy better units for far less than you time would be worth.