Users may not create topics, posts, or private messages containing or relating to the following material (especially pertaining to Motorola copyrighted software, unless you want Motorola to come along and shut this site down):

  • Listing for sale or trade of, or links to sites offering for sale or trade of, or giving away, Radio
    Service Software (RSS) or Customer Programming Software (CPS)
  • Profanity, pornography, defamation, or slanderous remarks directed towards any individual or entity
  • Commercial advertising (except in the Batboard Vendors forum, as approved by the Admin/Mod Staff)
  • Any other items which may be deemed as offensive

If any topics, posts, or private messages containing or relating to the aforementioned material are brought to the attention of the Admin/Mod Staff, they will be deleted.

Additional FAQ items appear here in Forum Rules. Please review them for posting guidelines and further clarification.

Cdm1550 firmware revert to older version

This forum is for discussions regarding all aspects of Motorola radio programming, including hardware, computers, installation and use of RSS/CPS, firmware upgrades, and troubleshooting. There are subforums for discussions of codeplugs, and also for software/firmware release notes and issues.

Moderator: Queue Moderator

AZToolman
New User
Posts: 6
Joined: Sat Nov 12, 2011 5:08 pm

Cdm1550 firmware revert to older version

Postby AZToolman » Sun Dec 04, 2011 6:58 pm

My CDM has firmware version R05.08.02
I want to revert to R05.06.04
firmware program detects newer version and wont let me install older version.
Waris upgrade tool uses R05.08.02 has file extension .0
Moto firmware R05.06.04 has no extension.
I am wondering if it can be converted and Waris upgrade used to load firmware?
Ideas?

User avatar
HLA
Posts: 2334
Joined: Mon Jul 11, 2005 8:15 pm
What radios do you own?: HT1550's, X9000's, CDM1550's

Re: Cdm1550 firmware revert to older version

Postby HLA » Mon Dec 05, 2011 9:53 am

I was always under the impression that you can't go backwards in firmware? Why would you want to go backwards?
HLA
I never check PM's so don't bother, just email me.
I won't reply to a hotmail, gmail, aol or any other generic free address, if you want me to reply use a real address.
STOP ASKING ME FOR SOFTWARE OR FIRMWARE, I JUST FORWARD ALL OF THE REQUESTS TO THE MODERATORS

AZToolman
New User
Posts: 6
Joined: Sat Nov 12, 2011 5:08 pm

Re: Cdm1550 firmware revert to older version

Postby AZToolman » Thu Dec 08, 2011 2:49 pm

HLA wrote:I was always under the impression that you can't go backwards in firmware? Why would you want to go backwards?

Because the older firmware supports 20 khz & 25 khz bandwidth.

User avatar
HLA
Posts: 2334
Joined: Mon Jul 11, 2005 8:15 pm
What radios do you own?: HT1550's, X9000's, CDM1550's

Re: Cdm1550 firmware revert to older version

Postby HLA » Fri Dec 09, 2011 10:12 pm

i'll have to upgrade one of mine tomorrow and see that, I have 5.07.02 in mine and it does all three bandwidths?
HLA
I never check PM's so don't bother, just email me.
I won't reply to a hotmail, gmail, aol or any other generic free address, if you want me to reply use a real address.
STOP ASKING ME FOR SOFTWARE OR FIRMWARE, I JUST FORWARD ALL OF THE REQUESTS TO THE MODERATORS

User avatar
SD70MAC
Posts: 408
Joined: Mon Sep 10, 2001 4:00 pm

Re: Cdm1550 firmware revert to older version

Postby SD70MAC » Thu Dec 15, 2011 7:16 am

I have several CDM's VHF & UHF that are fw r5.08.02 and they all have 12.5,20,25 steps. Look at the model # of the radio when you read it with the CPS if it is for example M25KKF9DP6AN it will do all steps. If it is M25KKF4DP6AN it will only do 12.5 ! The "4" in the model# are 12.5 only radios. The 220 band CDM's that have been moded to ham band are and will always be stuck in 12.5.
SD70MAC out

My collection;
XTS5000 VHF FPP,XTS3000 VHF M1&M3,XTVA,XTS2500 UHF Q FPP,Astro Spectra"s W3 VHF,W9 VHF,W7 800,HT1250 35-50,XPR4500 Q,2 CDM1550LS+ VHF 160ch,CDM1550 X 160ch VHF 25w,MAXTRAC 42-50 32ch,CDM1250 42-54

Jay
Batboard $upporter
Posts: 723
Joined: Wed Sep 05, 2001 4:00 pm

Re: Cdm1550 firmware revert to older version

Postby Jay » Thu Dec 15, 2011 6:54 pm

SD70MAC wrote:he 220 band CDM's that have been moded to ham band are and will always be stuck in 12.5.


It depends on what codeplug you modify and blow into it.

Jay

User avatar
HLA
Posts: 2334
Joined: Mon Jul 11, 2005 8:15 pm
What radios do you own?: HT1550's, X9000's, CDM1550's

Re: Cdm1550 firmware revert to older version

Postby HLA » Mon Dec 19, 2011 6:54 pm

ok I upgraded two of mine today and they both have all three and so do my ht1550's
HLA
I never check PM's so don't bother, just email me.
I won't reply to a hotmail, gmail, aol or any other generic free address, if you want me to reply use a real address.
STOP ASKING ME FOR SOFTWARE OR FIRMWARE, I JUST FORWARD ALL OF THE REQUESTS TO THE MODERATORS

CTAMontrose
was grem467
Posts: 1145
Joined: Mon Jul 21, 2003 12:46 pm

Re: Cdm1550 firmware revert to older version

Postby CTAMontrose » Tue Dec 20, 2011 11:32 am

SD70MAC wrote: The 220 band CDM's that have been moded to ham band are and will always be stuck in 12.5.


Completely false.

User avatar
motorola_otaku
Posts: 1854
Joined: Tue Jan 13, 2004 7:03 am
What radios do you own?: 2 turntables and a microphone

Re: Cdm1550 firmware revert to older version

Postby motorola_otaku » Wed Dec 21, 2011 9:23 am

CTAMontrose wrote:
SD70MAC wrote: The 220 band CDM's that have been moded to ham band are and will always be stuck in 12.5.


Completely false.

Well, okay, the ones using the published bandedit_en mod are stuck in 12.5. I got as far as getting one to have 20 and 25 available as options but the squelch would stick open due to the lack of 20/25kHz tuning softpots and CTCSS deviation would disappear. I did discover something interesting in the process, however: if you have a CPS-archived codpelug from a radio with the other voodoo worked on it to make 20/25 work, and the band range matches what the radio already has in it, CPS will write the codeplug into the radio and the 20/25kHz options will appear and work 100%.
When exposed to Rapid Fire Growth or Thermal Emergency, two things are lost:
1. Ability to use fine motor skills
2. Presence of mind

CTAMontrose
was grem467
Posts: 1145
Joined: Mon Jul 21, 2003 12:46 pm

Re: Cdm1550 firmware revert to older version

Postby CTAMontrose » Tue Dec 27, 2011 1:28 pm

motorola_otaku wrote:
CTAMontrose wrote:
SD70MAC wrote: The 220 band CDM's that have been moded to ham band are and will always be stuck in 12.5.


Completely false.

Well, okay, the ones using the published bandedit_en mod are stuck in 12.5. I got as far as getting one to have 20 and 25 available as options but the squelch would stick open due to the lack of 20/25kHz tuning softpots and CTCSS deviation would disappear. I did discover something interesting in the process, however: if you have a CPS-archived codpelug from a radio with the other voodoo worked on it to make 20/25 work, and the band range matches what the radio already has in it, CPS will write the codeplug into the radio and the 20/25kHz options will appear and work 100%.



Mine does all of the bandsplits, proper steps, 128ch as well as MDC1200 and does not keep the squelch open. Fix the alignment and the issue will resolve ;)

you are correct though, the usual mod will get you into the ham band, but is about half useless with the 12.5khz bandwidth and improper channel steps.


Return to “Radio Programming”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests