Users may not create topics, posts, or private messages containing or relating to the following material (especially pertaining to Motorola copyrighted software, unless you want Motorola to come along and shut this site down):

  • Listing for sale or trade of, or links to sites offering for sale or trade of, or giving away, Radio
    Service Software (RSS) or Customer Programming Software (CPS)
  • Profanity, pornography, defamation, or slanderous remarks directed towards any individual or entity
  • Commercial advertising (except in the Batboard Vendors forum, as approved by the Admin/Mod Staff)
  • Any other items which may be deemed as offensive

If any topics, posts, or private messages containing or relating to the aforementioned material are brought to the attention of the Admin/Mod Staff, they will be deleted.

Additional FAQ items appear here in Forum Rules. Please review them for posting guidelines and further clarification.

Converting Motorola GP680 to a GP380 - Is it really neccessary?

This forum is for discussions regarding all aspects of Motorola radio programming, including hardware, computers, installation and use of RSS/CPS, firmware upgrades, and troubleshooting. There are subforums for discussions of codeplugs, and also for software/firmware release notes and issues.

Moderator: Queue Moderator

Nelixuk2003
New User
Posts: 2
Joined: Mon Sep 17, 2018 7:15 am
What radios do you own?: GP680

Converting Motorola GP680 to a GP380 - Is it really neccessary?

Postby Nelixuk2003 » Tue Sep 18, 2018 4:14 am

Hi All

I've tried searching the internet for the answer to my question but cannot find a definitive answer.

I am about to get my hands on some GP680's, I don't know the versions of any of the firmware or codeplug's etc until I receive them.Is it possible to convert these to a GP380 for conventional use or can the 680 be used as a conventional radio without the need to convert? I don't need the Truck capabilities that the 680 has but if there is no need to convert and I can still program them up for conventional use then that will save a lot of work. Are there any limitations to using the 680 in a conventional manner, such as limited Channels etc.I had several 340's 360's and 380's many years ago and was familiar and more than comfortable with the programming of them, I stupidly sold them due to lack of use and have regretted it ever since so when these 680's came along I knabbed them quick.

Thanks

Nelix

Derrils
New User
Posts: 1
Joined: Thu Sep 20, 2018 3:05 am

Re: Converting Motorola GP680 to a GP380 - Is it really neccessary?

Postby Derrils » Thu Sep 20, 2018 3:39 am

Martin.
It can be done. but not officially.
That's why they won't answer you.
You need to be extremely careful, as it's an exacting process.
PM me here please.
I'll do what I can to help you from here.
Have you upgraded It's native Firmware to Version 02.09.02 yet??
This you need to do.
If you use the lab tool to force in the Code plug needed without doing that, you will kill the Atmel Flash Rom for sure, and the radio will never fire up again.
As for the display cabinet, the only difference is the front label, which is a bonus.
I'll send you a label FOC if you don't have One ;-)
My firm has converted several hundred of these, over the years.
I'm not fishing here for work, in case the moderator reads this.
Do you have the correct RS232 cable, and flash adapter.
The cables are very very expensive now, which is why people are reverting to using cheap Chinese USB variants. BAD IDEA, as these have been also known to brick radio's. FACT!, as I have evidence of this.
Without these, you are dead in the water mate.
Hope this helps you.


Return to “Radio Programming”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests