Spectra Motorcycle weathproof enclosure - Antenna Question

This forum is dedicated to helping people with questions about installing radio equipment in vehicles. This can include antenna installs, electrical wiring questions/problems, and mounting systems. Pictures of installs are welcome.

Note: Discussions regarding lighting, sirens, and other equipment now has its own forum in the 'off-topic' section below.

Moderator: Queue Moderator

m151a2

Spectra Motorcycle weathproof enclosure - Antenna Question

Post by m151a2 »

I am new to all of this.

I have a 2003 Harley Police model with a Motorola Spectra Weatherproof Enclosure installed.

I have a Spectra Radio, control head etc, that I am getting ready to install.
It is set to run the 438 - 470 MHz range.

The enclosure has a large metal ground plane inside. It has a 3/4 inch hole in the metal plate, waiting for a drill through of the fiberglass through which the antenna is installed.

I do not know the correct antenna. I see a motorola RAE4024ARB listed as an XTL5000 accesory chart. Could this be it?

If not, another member here suggested an NMO mount with which he had success, and then an antenna of proper frequency range.

Is it really just this simple? Buy a mount that goes through the box, and then a correct range antenna? Does it matter that the box has that large ground plane inside? Does the mount matter for frequency or only the antenna.

Sorry for the long post. But I am truly dumb at this.

Thanks,

Ken
fire-medic8104

Post by fire-medic8104 »

I believe the last time I did one of those I used a thick roof mount antenna from maxrad. Also a good suggestion is to take braided wire, like what is used as a ground on crown victorias or 10ga standard automotive wire to make a ground. Go from the bolts that conect the hinge to the top of the box to the bolts that connect the hinge to the bottom to the base plate where the radio mounts.