External Amplifier on a Motorola XTL1500

The General forum is where users can discuss any topic regarding Motorola communications equipment - hardware, software, etc. There are also several focused forums on this board, so please take the time to ensure that your questions doesn't fall into one of those categories before posting here!

Moderator: Queue Moderator

folsomcvpd
New User

External Amplifier on a Motorola XTL1500

Post by folsomcvpd »

Just got an XTL1500 as part of a grant. Wondered if I could plug in an VoCom VVC100-25 amplifier on it. Without the amp we can transmit to our town lines, but it does not help with mutual aid situations. I already had the VoCom from a previous install. I contacted Motorola Support with no clear answer. I was told the radio is set up currently at 50watts. Would like to get to 100watts.

Let me throw out a disclaimer that I am not technically savy and will not understand technical jargon. Looking for a basic yes or no. If no, just give me a simple reason like - "It will blow up". Thanks in advance for your help.
d119

Re: External Amplifier on a Motorola XTL1500

Post by d119 »

You need to know the answers to the following questions before doing this:

1. Is the amplifier the same band as the mobile radio? (are they both VHF, etc.)
2. Is the amplifier tuned for the frequency on which the mobile radio will be transmitting?
3. What is the input power of the amplifier? You don't want to exceed rated input power of the amplifier or you'll have a mess on your hands one way or the other.
4. Can your antenna network handle the output power of the amplifier?
5. Will your power supply support the electrical current needs of the mobile radio plus the amplifier?
6. Are you licensed to run the rated output power of the amplifier + gain of the antenna? In other words, does the license allow the transmitter output power plus ERP that you'd be generating?